Chosen Family

Family comes in many forms. There’s the family into which we’re born and the ones into which we marry. There’s also the family we choose.

Most of my adult life, I’ve found myself drawn to people whom I call family, though we share no blood connection. Instead we are bonded by something stronger, a love of choosing, not obligation.

My chosen family has held me up when I thought my life was ending. They held my swollen hands as we learned of my diagnosis, and have walked by my side all through this life with chronic illness. They have watched Scotty and I fall in love, and have celebrated each memory with us these past five years. They will be the ones at our sides this summer when we make our promises to each other, and they will be the ones dancing into the night with us afterwards.

ChosenFamily

My chosen family are angels who make dreams come true, who make the impossible possible. They hold me up when I’m sure I can’t stand on my own, and have shown me just how strong I really am. They answer midnight text messages and phone calls, and have held me over the miles as we mourned together. They are the sisters and brothers and surrogate mother I never knew I needed until they came into my life. And now I know I could not live without them.

I will always love the family into which I was born, and the family into which I am marrying, but this family of my heart? They are my heart, always.

Do you have a chosen family?

9 thoughts on “Chosen Family

  1. I have adopted a sister for my self since my parents never saw fit to give me one. Her name is Julie and she is my best friend. I love her and she loves me and our kids love each other too. My kids think her kids are their cousins and I’ve never corrected them. Her son loves my husband like mad, which is crazy because he barely goes to anyone else. I don’t know what I’d do without my Julie!
    You are quite lucky to have collected your own family. The blood part is really irrelevant, isn’t it?

    1. It certainly is, Rabia! My parents gave me sisters, and we’re closer now that we’re all grown, but the sisters of my heart know me deeply, and fill a spot no one else could. They’ve been the support through each and every up and down these past years. My cup certainly runeth over.

  2. This is beautiful. I do. I have some who are chosen and some who are blood. And a combination of the two.

    Sending you love. I’m glad your family is there for you when you need them most.

  3. I think as we all travel through this journey of life we pick up family. My husbands best friend in college is like the brother I never had. He is my sound of reason when I am.upset with the hubs….. He tells me why a guy thinks a certain way.. Love that.

Got something to say?

