Cooking With Spoonies: Winter Menu Ideas

Brrr! Winter has swept into my little corner of the world, and lordy are those winds brutal!

Of course, we didn’t get covered in snow like the Midwest and Northeast, so I really shouldn’t complain. Except my toes haven’t unthawed in over a week.

With the colder temperatures and the early dark evenings, my cravings for warm, filling comfort food are in full effect, and my crockpot has been going nearly non-stop. I thought I would share with you a few of the things I’m currently craving as well as a couple new recipes I’m eager to try.

CookingWithSpoonies

 

Hot Italian Subs

Sandwiches like this are the perfect easy meal. A little bit of prep and you have a fun, quick dinner, and lunches for the next day. We’ll probably pair ours with soup because YUM!

Creamy Chicken Enchilada Soup

Because I can’t eat tomatoes, I’m always on the look out for Mexi dishes I can have with green sauce instead. This recipe looks like it would be just the right amount of spicy and comforting. We’ll have it with some tortilla chips and a salad.

Broccoli Cheese Dip

If you know anything about me, you know I love me some cheese. Mmmm. Warm cheese dip? Don’t mind if I do. Just add veggies and some warm French bread, I’m all in!

Broccoli Alfredo Pasta

I’ll be subbing gnocchi for the tortellini because I got a great deal at the store last night. I’m betting this one will jump to the top of the list of recipes Scotty asks for frequently 🙂

Cheesy Chicken N Dumplings

I made this last month, and it’s on the list again for this month. It’s a HUGE hit, and so incredibly easy. And if my Instagram and Facebook comments are any kind of tool to judge by, a lot of my friends will be trying this one soon, as well.

Breakfast Casserole

I may have mentioned this one a time or two. It’s a great recipe that can feed a crowd or offer lots of leftovers. Since it’s just myself and Scotty, we often make it on a Sunday morning and then divide the leftovers up to make breakfast burritos that we then freeze for easy grab n go breakfasts throughout the week.

YUM! Now I’m starving and it’s not even lunch time yet. What are you cooking this month? Are there any recipes here you’ll be adding to your list?

One thought on “Cooking With Spoonies: Winter Menu Ideas

Got something to say?

