Cooking With Spoonies: A Thanksgiving Menu

Tomorrow, many of us will be sitting down with our loved ones to a table spread with all kinds of delectable delights. This year, Scotty and I decided to stay home and celebrate with just us. We’re looking forward to getting to relax together, and recharge a bit.

CookingWithSpoonies

 

Because it’s just the two of us, we’re not making a huge traditional menu. All that food would go bad before we could eat it all. So here’s a peek at how we’ll be celebrating:

We’ll also be snacking on popcorn while we play board games and watch football. We may or may not still have a stash of Halloween chocolates. And, of course, there’s plenty of tea, cider, and hot cocoa to last us into December.

It might not be what you think of when you think “Thanksgiving,” and there might be a part of me that will miss having a turkey, but we’re going to celebrate what we have, in the most low-key way possible. Friday we’ll decorate our tree, and Saturday we’ll be watching the Civil War Oregon vs Oregon State football game. (I expect you all to be rooting for my Ducks!) 

However y’all are celebrating, I hope you know you’re in my heart and I’m very grateful for you. Happy eating, yo!

5 thoughts on “Cooking With Spoonies: A Thanksgiving Menu

  1. I love the menu. I agree on not cooking a big turkey. Last year I did roasted chicken and ham and this year its grilling steak and ham. Keeping it simple, or as simple as I can so I enjoy the holiday too. Have a lovely relaxing day!

    1. I think we’ll do a ham for Christmas. I’m all about keeping it simple while still having a meal we’ll cherish and remember. Thanksgiving was lovely, and we still have some stuffing and potatoes left, and maybe a couple dinner rolls lol. Much better than an entire half a turkey going bad before I could think of enough ways to use it. Plus, my hands just don’t like all that de-boning.

      Hope you had a great holiday! Can’t wait to see your Christmas menu 🙂

  2. Happy Thanksgiving, my sweet friend. I’m thankful for YOU!

    I am glad you are enjoying your holiday, no matter what we eat, I’m thankful for full bellies and yummy food and good company. xo

Got something to say?

