Cooking With Spoonies: Chicken Broccoli Tater Tot Casserole

CookingWithSpoonies

The arctic temperatures have swept through my little corner of the Pacific Northwest this last week, leaving us bundled up and craving comfort food.

I saw this recipe on Pinterest awhile back and have been waiting for the perfect cozy night to try it out. Last night was that night. And goodness, it was amazing!

I made some adjustments to the recipe, mostly because it’s just Scotty and I, so we didn’t need a ton. Also, I didn’t want it super soupy. So here’s my version:

I preheated my oven to 375 degrees F and sprayed a 13×9 glass baking dish with non-stick spray.

I shredded 3 chicken thighs I had cooked in the crockpot earlier in the week. It was about the equivalent of 2 1/2 – 3 cups shredded chicken. I spread this across the bottom of the pan. Then I added 2 cups of frozen chopped broccoli. (I chose the chopped broccoli so that it was all bite-sized and not random large florets.)

In a separate bowl, I mixed together 1 can of cream of chicken soup and 1 can of cheddar cheese soup with 1/2 a can of milk. I spread this mixture over the broccoli and chicken.

Then I laid frozen tater tots over the top, evenly spread out. I prefer the “rounds” as opposed to the traditional tater tot shape, but either will work. Then I sprinkled seasoning salt and black pepper over the tots, to taste.

I baked this uncovered for 20 minutes, then added 3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese to the top, and baked for another 15 minutes uncovered.

Let rest for 5-10 minutes before serving.

We had ours with biscuits, and were in love. It’s much like an open faced pot pie, and is definitely perfect fall or winter food. I think casseroles like this can be great and easy recipes for spoonies, because there’s often little prep work. The hardest part of the whole recipe, for me, is lifting the pan into and out of the oven. Not too shabby, especially if you have someone to help with that part.

What’s your favorite fall recipe? I’d love you to share it in the comments so I can give it a try!

4 thoughts on “Cooking With Spoonies: Chicken Broccoli Tater Tot Casserole

  1. This sounds (and LOOKS) amazingly delicious. I’m pinning. I like my tater tot casserole recipe, but I almost always use ground chicken or turkey. Love the switch and the rounds, don’t think I’ve heard of them but I might have to look. Looks like a better kinda’ tot for me!

Got something to say?

