Ask Away Friday The Halloween Edition

“Boys and girls of every age, wouldn’t you like to see something strange?”

This is Halloween, this is Halloween. For this lovely day of fun, sweets, and fright, I’ve teamed up with Christy from Uplifting Families for a holiday themed version of Ask Away Friday. So grab your favorite candy, kick up your witch’s boots, and read away!

AAFChristyCollage

1. Are you planning on doing anything for Halloween?

My fiance and I are going to curl up at home with movies and snacks. No kiddos to take out, and our little doggy doesn’t really like a lot of commotion, so we won’t be handing out candy either. Just us and a little Time Warp 😉

2. What is your favorite kind of Halloween candy?

Anything chocolate. Seriously. Probably the better question is what candy do I hate. The answer being Necco wafers. Those things are disgusting.

3. Have you visited a pumpkin patch or other fall themed party this year?

No! *sad panda* I had high hopes for a corn maze or something, but then I got the sinus infection that lasted nearly all month, and just as I was feeling well enough, the torrential rains started. It’s like October conspired against me.

4. What do you think will be the most popular costume this year for girls?

Probably Elsa from Frozen. I’ve already seen it all over my timeline this week. Which? I get it. She’s a strong Disney character for little girls to look up to, and I think many can relate to the morals/emotions behind the story line.

For boys?

Huh. I’m not sure what the big movies were this year. Maybe characters from Guardians of the Galaxy. My own kiddo is wearing a serial killer clown mask, a hoodie, and jeans. I sure hope he’s not planning on handing out candy, he’ll probably scar some little tyke.

5. What was your favorite Halloween costume growing up?

When I was four I got to be Rainbow Brite. It was one of those vinyl plasticy costumes with the masks you couldn’t breathe out of, but it was awesome. And now I want to be Rainbow Brite again.

6. Did you make any Pinteresting Halloween treats?

Sadly, no. Again with October working against me. Dinner tonight will probably be grilled cheese because that honestly sounds divine right now.

7. Do you plan on dressing up for Halloween? If so, what do your plan on
wearing?

No costume this year. So I’ll be rocking yoga pants and a cozy tee. But I am wearing orange socks with little black jack o’lanterns all over them, so that has to count, right?

8. Do you enjoy going to haunted houses?

I do NOT. I hate having things pop out at me. Funny story, I went to one when I was pregnant with my kiddo. One of the “actors” lunged out at me and I hit him. I was not-so-kindly asked to leave the attraction by on-site security. I guess it’s against the rules for people to touch the actors but not for them to touch us? I don’t know. My parting words were, “HE SHOULDN’T HAVE LUNGED OUT AT A VERY LARGE PREGNANT WOMAN!” I’m classy like that.

9. Pick one: Would you rather go through a haunted house or stick your
hand in a bucket of unknown goodies?

I can always wash my hand, so I choose option 2.

10. What is your favorite scary movie?

I’ve not liked any scary movie I’ve been forced to watch. I like suspense, but I hate gore and grime and maniacal screaming. My favorite movie to watch on Halloween? Young Frankenstein, The Rocky Horror Picture Show, or Nightmare Before Christmas.

 

Thank you for a great Halloween swap, Christy! I hope you all have a great holiday, and celebrate safely, however you choose to do it. Now pass the chocolate!

14 thoughts on “Ask Away Friday The Halloween Edition

  1. Lots of fun! I love Halloween also.
    I think this year a lot of boys are going as Spiderman. I wonder if that might be the most worn superhero costume just because of so many movies and comics? I was looking at some of my old Halloween pics and my younger brothers went as Spiderman a couple times and now my friend’s son is going as Spiderman. Loved for generations, I suppose.
    I’m in bed for the past few years, but this year I’m well enough to reminisce over pictures and I’m wearing a fairy top. So I can still enjoy it in my way 🙂 Have fun all! Cute post 😀

  2. You are reading my mind! I’ve got my banana chips and salted caramel hazelnut dip as the wind blows 🙂
    I might feel more down about tonight if my brothers were still little, but everyone is grown and my friends aren’t out partying without me, they are with their kiddos 🙂
    Maybe me and the hubbs will find a horror and cuddle up 🙂 Have a fun safe halloween and don’t overdo too much! ❤

  3. I love Rocky Horror and I love anything chocolate!! And I do like this “This is Halloween” version too!
    Rainbow Brite was pretty much the best costume ever for our youth!

  4. I had a sinus infection in October too, just that time of the year. I need to crave pumpkins with the kids next year. I think a corn mazest would be fun. You should sign up for the US Family travel for bloggers, it has opps like free passes places. I saw a few corn mazes in tx but they were too far away.

    1. I’m sorry to hear you were also under the weather. Sinus infections are the worst! I will definitely check out the US Family travel thing, it sounds like a great idea. Can you email me a link, if you have one?

Got something to say?

