I’m Grateful For Negativity

When I woke up this morning, I wasn’t feeling very grateful.

GratefulMondays

I’m currently fighting off a nasty sinus infection that resulted from the chemical poisoning a few weeks back. The antibiotics are wreaking havoc on my body, and we had to push back my next infusion, so I’m flaring on top of everything. Clearly, I’m loving life right now.

But then something on Facebook stopped me in my whiny tracks. And I realized something very powerful.

I’m grateful for all the nay-sayers. For everyone who’s ever told me I couldn’t do something. For all the people that told I’m not strong enough, or pretty enough, or thin enough, or just…ENOUGH.

For the doctors who told me it was all in my head, and the ones who told me I’d succumb to this disease and be in a wheelchair by now. For the nurses who were rude and treated me like a hassle.

For the “friends” who left when things got rough, and the people who never gave me a chance.

I’m grateful for all of this negativity, because I chose to thrive in spite of it all.

I am doing it. I’m living. I’m writing. I’m DOING. I’m strong, and pretty, and my man happens to like my curves, so there! I am more than enough.

It’s not all in my head, and I haven’t allowed RA to overtake me. While I might need a cane sometimes, I’m not in a wheelchair yet, and I have no plans for one.

And those friends who left? They made room for the people I really needed in my life. They opened the doors for my framily to walk through, and so I’m grateful for them.

I’m grateful for everyone, everything, that has made my life challenging. Because it all has made me who I am. And who I am is someone who’s not giving up.

8 thoughts on “I’m Grateful For Negativity

    1. Thank you! Hugs right back to you. I won’t lie, there are days the negativity gets to me, but I try to take a positive approach. Stress and tension just make our symptoms so much worse 😦

Got something to say?

