Living Better: A Meal Plan

LivingBetter

A while back, I promised Rabia that if she posted her meal plan, I would post mine.

Then life happened and I almost forgot…until I started brainstorming meal ideas for October. See, in our house, we do big shopping once a month, at pay day, and try to make big meals that can serve for a few days to stretch our budget to the max. I do the meal planning, scour the internet and paper ads for coupons, and make the master list. Then Scotty takes me shopping and helps me put it all together.

Even though it sounds like a lot of work, and shopping day almost always knocks me on my butt, doing it this way actually saves me a lot of work and energy. With cooking large batches, Scotty always has leftovers for his lunches, and easy things to pull together for dinner if I’m not up to cooking.

So here are a few ideas we’re looking at for October. Note the extensive use of my crockpot 🙂 It truly is my lifesaver!

Crockpot Chicken & Stuffing served with Roasted Carrots

Garlic Pot Roast and Veggies served with Fresh Dinner Rolls

Crockpot Cashew Chicken served over Rice

Crockpot Loaded Potato Soup served in Bread Bowls

Cheesy Potato Breakfast Casserole served with Cinnamon Rolls (I’m thinking the leftovers from the casserole could be used to make breakfast burritos to freeze. Fingers crossed!)

I’ll also be doing a batch of Taco Chicken in the crockpot. We’ll freeze half to use later in the month, and use it for burrito bowls, tacos, enchiladas, and/or quesadillas.

What’s on your menu? Got any recipes you’d like to share with me?

 

**”Living Better” is a new Saturday series here. You’ll be able to find recipes/meal plans, tips and shortcuts to make life a little easier, as well as stories from fellow bloggers/writers on how they’re living better. If you’d like to submit a guest post for this series, please email me at becominneurotic(at)gmail(dot)com. 

Got something to say?

