Ask Away Friday Vol. 10

Today is my favorite uncle’s birthday. And yes, now that you mention it, we have a ton of birthdays in August. And no, I’m not sure how all of us Leos get along. Sometimes we really don’t get along at all.

AAFTamaraCollage

Today is also another Friday, and another dose of #AskAwayFriday. This week I got to swap with the lovely lady behind Tamara Like Camera. I met Tamara through the AAF group and immediately fell in love with her beautiful photos. Her blog is a combination of her lovely photography and her ability to tell a story so captivating, you’re left breathless. Please be sure to swing by her spot and see how she answered my questions this week, you won’t be disappointed!

Tamara had some great questions for me, so without further ado…

1. I was so sorry to hear about the autoimmune diseases in your life, as well as depression and anxiety. Focusing on the anxiety, since that is something I have on occasion, what are some things that really help you to ease it, if you don’t mind answering?

Thank you, and I don’t mind at all! Anxiety is harder for me, there never seems to be a clear cut answer on how to ease it. Music often helps, usually something I can just scream along to at the top of my lungs. Cleaning is also good, it eases the OCD tendencies that creep in when my anxiety goes unchecked. I’ve also noticed any activity that lets me have a bit of control is helpful. It’s like I’m latching onto anything that feels like I’m regaining the control I feel anxiety saps from me.

2. Doctor Who question! Who is your favorite Doctor of all? Who is your favorite Doctor in that “hubba hubba” kind of way? And who is your favorite companion? (K-9 counts)

Well since I’m a new viewer, I don’t really have any favorites. My son swears Matt Smith is the best, and has me started with those episodes, so I’ve only met Amelia Pond, and Rory. I’ll check back in soon and let you know what I think when I go back to the beginning. Or as far back as Netflix will let me go.

3. What’s your favorite thing to write about? Or what has been your favorite blog post?

This is so hard! Each post means something to me when I write it, that’s really how I write. (Which is also why there can be gaps between posts. If I’m not feeling it, I try not to force it.) I love writing about the people I love, and sharing my loved ones with my readers. It’s nice to be able to tell everyone how awesome they are without them interrupting me and brushing it off lol! As for a favorite post, I really like my Grateful Mondays posts. It’s nice to start the week off on a high note and put a bit of gratitude out into the world.

4. Got this from Kristen at Mommy In Sports – What blog post were you most afraid to publish? The most vulnerable thing you wrote where your hand hovered over the ‘publish’ button…but you did it anyways?

There are a few posts I’ve hesitated on. I Loved You was written about friends who hurt me after my diagnosis with RA and the resulting fall out. It’s raw pain, and was hard for me to publish knowing they might one day see it. The posts that share my story of being a survivor are also pretty vulnerable. While it is laying myself bare, it’s important to me to share that story. There is a lot of stigma attached to being a survivor, and by sharing my story, I might help someone to know they they aren’t alone and it isn’t their fault. Ultimately, this is my spot to share my truth, all of it, and so I eventually bite the bullet and hit publish.

5. What’s something you have always wanted to do that you have yet to accomplish?

I’ve always wanted to write a book. I’ve had many ideas over the years, but it involves REALLY taking a risk, and so I’ve let the ideas slither away. Like most people, I have a deep fear of rejection. I’m trying to be more brave, but I’ve yet to take that crucial step.

6. What’s a dream vacation you can’t wait to take with your family?

I would love to take any vacation with my family! Travelling has become a bit harder since I got sick, and finances always seem to be tight. We’ve actually never had more than just a day trip with my fiance and son and I together. I’d really love to take us all up to Canada to visit our favorite couple, that would be lovely.

7. What’s been your proudest moment as a mother?

I’ve been blessed, my son is pretty wonderful and has given me lots of proud moments. It could be his first report card with straight A’s or when he flew in one summer and the stewardess told us how well behaved and polite he was…and he was only seven. In fact, it was last school year when he devoted his Wednesday afternoons to tutor younger students in his youth group. There was nothing in it for him, he did it just because he wanted to help. And my heart melted and grew three times just like The Grinch.

8. Do you have any plans to travel this fall or winter?

At this moment, no. I’ll be starting a new treatment this fall, and we’re waiting to see how that will affect me. We’d like to have my sisters come here for the holidays, and limit my travelling while still getting to see them. If not, we might go to see my sister in Bend, Oregon, which is just a few hours away.

9. What’s the wackiest belief you had as a child?

I honestly can’t remember any! My parents weren’t big on feeding the imagination, and I knew there was no Santa by age six. So I really don’t know that I had any wacky beliefs.

10. What’s the best meal you’ve eaten this week?

I made this creamy chicken in my crockpot and served it over rice, with some veggies. It’s a Pinterest recipe revised and I’m in love with it. Three ingredients, six hours on low, viola! Also, the double chocolate cuppity cakes I made yesterday were pretty awesome. Just sayin’.

 

Tamara really had some deep questions, and made me THINK! Don’t forget to stop by her place and say hi, tell her I sent you! If you’d like to join in the Ask Away Friday fun, check out their Facebook group. They’re a bunch of awesome bloggers, you won’t regret it.

I’m off to enjoy a (hopefully) calm weekend with my fiance and get ready for my son to come back on Sunday. If anyone has some extra energy to send my way, I’d love it!

9 thoughts on “Ask Away Friday Vol. 10

  1. There’s no Santa?!?

    Just kidding. I want that creamy chicken now. I’m late on lunch – it’s already 2:00!
    I loved your answers and I loved your questions. I feel like we challenged each other well. And your intro made my day.
    I love the thing about regaining control when anxious. One thing that helps me is to do sudoku, crossword puzzles or play my Family Feud app. Just those little things..

    1. I’ll have to snag the pin and send it to you, it’s crazy easy and I bet your kiddos would eat it up. We also like it with roasted potatoes, since fall is right around the corner 😉 I think this week was a GREAT challenge, it really made me think a bit, and dig through some older posts.
      I had forgotten about crosswords and sudoku, I also have a backgammon app on my phone that helps me to unwind and refocus.

  2. Cleaning and listening to music are calming to me too. I also find baking very calming even if I can’t eat what I bake.
    Your son sounds like an awesome kid. Being a parent is very rewarding espically when we get to see our wonderful our kids are

  3. i still need to master (or umm use) my crockpot! Hubby made this amazing Beef Stew in it last winter but that’s about as far as we’ve gotten…maybe this year? 😀

  4. I totally agree that overcoming the anxiety is sometimes hard to do, I just try force when all else fails. I am super excited that BBCAmerica will be starting the Doctor Who series from the start of season one on Monday morning, and I will be watching it for sure! The kids have asked me to get them up, so that they can see it too! David Tennant is by far my favorite Doctor, and oh hubba hubba! LOL! Oh cupcakes, yummy! That chicken crockpot recipe sounds yummy, too! Have a great weekend, Tia!

  5. I agree it is tough having an autoimmune disorder. I am newly diagnosed and currently having mixed emotions about it. It is nice that I have a diagnosis and know what is wrong with me but at the same time it is scary because it is life long. I am thankful that it didn’t take much convincing the doctor, I have heard some people it takes over a year to get that diagnosis. Of course, I guess it has been a year since I first got the symptoms. I did some researching and it doesn’t run in the family (which is great news). I am thankful that the diagnosis gave me treatment options.

Got something to say?

