Ask Away Friday Vol. 9

Oh August, how are you slipping away from us so quickly?

Soon it will be cooler temperatures (YAY!), crisp leaves decorating the world, back to school and back to routines. For today, it is my future father-in-law’s birthday. And it is Friday, which means it’s time for another round of Ask Away Friday!

AAFKellyMichelleCollage

This week I swapped with Kelly Michelle from The Beauty of Resilience. Kelly Michelle is a substitute teacher who shares wonderfully inspiring posts about life, teaching, and her art. Be sure to hop on over to her site and read her answers to my questions so you can get to know this blogger better!

And now, on to the show!

1. I read on your blog that you just had a birthday. First, Happy Belated Birthday! Second, where is your favorite restaurant to go to celebrate a birthday?

Thank you so much! It’s funny you ask this because my parents are coming to visit at the end of the month and they want me to pick a restaurant for my birthday dinner…and I just can’t decide! I love pasta so my mom is pushing for Olive Garden, but part of me really wants a good steak, so The Roadhouse is looking pretty good. Then another part of me really wants to try somewhere we’ve never been. I guess in answer to your question, my favorite place is wherever I can get whatever food I’m currently craving haha!

2. What is a good birthday memory from the past you remember most?

For my 30th birthday two years ago, my fiance secretly sought out my favorite book series and bought the entire series for me. It was seven LARGE books that aren’t especially cheap. But more than the money he spent, it was that he found something that he knew would speak to my heart of hearts. It is my most treasured birthday gift ever.

3. Other than Doctor Who, which you mentioned in one of your posts, what are some others TV shows you are a fan of?

I’m a new fan to Doctor Who, though my friends have been after me for ages to take the plunge. I also really love true crime shows and Criminal Minds, even if they give me nightmares occasionally. I’m a believer in fairy tales and religiously follow Once Upon A Time, Tracie and I watch together across the miles. My fiance and I are also devout Mythbusters fans, and I’m currently drooling over the new Outlander show, which is based on the above mentioned books.

4. What is your favorite thing about being a mom?

I love seeing the little human he is becoming. I love seeing which parts he gets from me, and from other family members. I love watching his mind grow and that little light bulb that goes on when he grasps a new concept. I love how he is everything I could have hoped for, but not exactly what I dreamed, because he’s his own person. And he’s so very much better than I could have imagined.

5. You mentioned you love the rain. What is your favorite rainy day activity?

I love the smell of rain the most, I think. And that’s unique to Oregon, I can promise. Or maybe the Pacific Northwest. I do know that the rain here doesn’t smell like it does in California or the Midwest. My favorite activity has got to be curling up with a cup of hot tea, a fuzzy blanket, and a great book. Nothing beats escaping into fantasy while rain drizzles around you.

6. What is one of your favorite inspirational quotes?

Oh goodness! Most of you know I share inspirational messages over at Spoons 4 Spoonies often, so there are certainly a lot of good ones to choose from. I think this is probably one of my top ones.

LeoBuscaglia

7. What is your favorite activity to do as a family?

Movie nights are a big favorite, for all of us. We’ll pick out something yummy for dinner, usually something fun like fondue, and curl up to watch a movie together. Last week we had nachos and watched The Lego Movie, which was better than I had imagined it would be.

8. What is a hobby you like to do the most?

I love my writing, which is still a hobby, even if it’s getting more recognition lately. I also equally love to read. If I could figure out how to do them at the same time, I probably would!

9. What is one of your favorite movies, currently?

Hmm. That’s a hard one, since I haven’t seen a lot of current movies. I am a huge fan of Quentin Tarantino’s movies and just recently re-watched Kill Bill Vol 1 & 2. I also love fairy tales, so Ever After and The Princess Bride are favorites, too.

10. Other than bowling, what other indoor sports do you like?

I’m not sure! I’m not the most athletic person, even before I got sick. I’ve always been extremely klutzy, so I’ve steered away from anything where I could hurt myself or others haha. I do love yoga and some pilates, the stretches can be very helpful for my joints and there’s something very relaxing there. Does that count?

 

Many thanks to Kelly Michelle for a great swap this week! Don’t forget to head over to her site to see what I asked her and how she answered. If you’d like to join Ask Away Friday, check out their Facebook group to get started! And if there’s a question I haven’t answered yet, but you’d like to ask, please leave it in the comments and I’ll add it as a bonus to the next swap!

Now go out and have a great weekend! I’ll be watching my fiance play at a lovely winery while celebrating the end of the summer semester with a good friend of mine 🙂

7 thoughts on “Ask Away Friday Vol. 9

  1. I just had a birthday too…Yay August Babies! I also had lunch yesterday at Olive Garden – so yummy! I love when someone takes the time to give a gift that isn’t based on cost but on who you are as a person. It means so much that they put that much thought into it.

  2. My six year old loves Olive Garden. I’ve been trying to do yoga lately too. It feels really good to give your muscles a good stretch. Happy belated Birthday!

  3. Mmmm, you said one of my favorite restaurants. We love Olive Garden. I do hate being put on the spot to choose a place to eat too because I always want everyone else to be happy with what we are eating. Rarely will I speak up and say I want this or that.

    My husband surprised me this year, I didn’t think we were planning anything for my birthday last week. He told me that he would take my daughter to band camp and pick her up, so I was good with that since I have been mom taxi every week in August. What I didn’t know he went by the store and brought home cheesecake and a cookie cake. It was so sweet. 😉

  4. Such a great swap! Olive Garden! Yummy! It is so about the thought! One year for our anniversary, my hubby bought me yard decor in the shapes of Black Bear’s and a Moose, which was the decor in our honeymoon cabin. I love Criminal Minds and the new Outlander series! I just bought the first book in the Outlander set, I can’t wait to start it! 🙂 I totally agree and love escaping into that fantasy world! Have a great weekend, Tia!

Got something to say?

