Ask Away Friday Vol. 8

Holy Moly it’s August already!

Today my awesome kiddo arrives, so while I’m out having lunch with him and my mom, here’s another round of Ask Away Friday for you!

AAFTiffanyCollage

This week I swapped with one of our awesome Ask Away Friday hosts, the lovely Tiffany aka Mrs. Tee from MrsTeeLoveLifeLaughter. Mrs. Tee is the new age Mrs. Brady, with her husband and their six kiddos ranging from college age to toddler. She writes about her family, love, her life, and all kinds of laughter and happiness. Be sure to check out her site to see her answers to today’s swap. You should also follow her on Instagram so you can check out all her photos from her recent trip to Disney!

And now, on to Tiffany’s questions for me!

1. In your post I Don’t Listen To Me, you talk about how easy it can be to encourage support and give advice to others but, in turn, so hard to do the same for yourself. I feel the same way at times when I find myself giving advice that I need to apply to my own situations.
Since writing this post, how have you made steps to get better at encouraging and supporting yourself the same way you do those around you?

I think the biggest step I’ve made is changing how I talk to myself. I think I had trained myself to think (at least subconsciously) that I wasn’t worthy of the same kindness I offered to others. So while I knew I needed to be kinder to myself, I had years of negativity telling me I didn’t deserve it. (Does that make sense?) So now I make a conscious effort to tell myself that I’m worth taking care of, and that makes it a little easier to be kind to myself.

2. Your tag line is “my path to crazy”… Can you explain what that means to you?

I’ve always viewed my life as some form of chaos. Life with chronic illness isn’t any less crazy, in fact, there are days I feel my life now is more nuts than life when my son was a toddler! I chose that as my tagline, and my screen name/title of Becomin Neurotic, because there are times I truly feel like I’m losing my mind. I’m learning to embrace it, though, this craziness. And wouldn’t you know it, life is slightly calmer when you stop fighting for all the control?

3. Congratulations in your engagement!!! What would you want in your dream wedding if money was not an issue?

Thank you!! I think if money weren’t an issue, we’d still have something similar to what we’re doing, which is a small party with those we love. If money weren’t an issue, though, I’d be able to fly out friends from Florida and Texas and Louisiana to celebrate with us.

4. Where is your perfect destination for a honeymoon (again money doesn’t matter)?

Oh boy! Well, I’d love something silly, like Disneyworld, since neither of us have been and I really want to see the Harry Potter world! Or maybe something romantic like a trip around Europe where we could see castles, eat all sorts of delicacies, and kiss in Italy.

5. It’s a cold, chilly day…what is your favorite thing to do (read, blog, movies, etc)?

I absolutely love curling up with a cup of hot tea and a good book on chilly days. If my fiance is home, I prefer snuggling while watching a movie and sharing popcorn.

6. Do you prefer coffee, tea, soda, or water?

Tea, all day. And if it’s warmer than winter? Sweet tea. (I’m sure some of my genes are southern.)

7. When you’re at a low point, what is the one thing that can always lift you up?

My fiance. His love is so completely unconditional, it’s almost overwhelming. On the lowest days, he still tells me I’m beautiful, that I’m his dream come true. I may not always feel beautiful, but to see the love and honesty in his eyes, it’s hard to deny how he sees me. And that kind of love is pretty powerful, even against the darkest depression and the worst pain.

Also, my doggy can always make me smile 🙂

8. What’s your favorite movie?

It’s always a been a tie between Top Gun and Dirty Dancing. Because I’m a sucker for cheesy lines and eighties love stories.

“Maverick, take me to bed or lose me forever.” “I carried a watermelon.”

9. If you could be a guest star on any TV show which would it be? Why?

Well, if I also magically gained acting abilities, I’d love to be on Once Upon A Time or in the new series Outlander. Why? Because I still believe in fairy tales, and I want to meet Jamie and Claire.

10. You have $1000 to spend anyway you want…how would you spend it?

Well the sensible side of me says to spend it on bills. But truly? I’d want to take an honest to goodness vacation. In the five years we’ve been together, my fiance and I’ve never had a chance to fly away together. I figure $1000 would be enough to maybe go to Disney or visit loved ones in Southern California, Florida, Minnesota, or Texas.

Wow! Mrs. Tee sure had some thinkers! Don’t forget to hop on over to her site to see her answers to my questions for her. And y’all have yourselves a wonderful weekend! Me? It’s my birthday weekend, so I’m going bowling with my guys and a few of our loved ones, followed by dinner at my favorite pizza joint. Woohoo!

6 thoughts on “Ask Away Friday Vol. 8

  1. I love your favorite movie lines!
    And I’d love to go back to Orlando this year. I have been to Harry Potter but it’s been so renovated since we went in January, that going again would be like going for the first time.
    Let’s swap soon! I have the last two or three weeks in August.

  2. Definitely is hard to extend kindness to oneself!!! So good to make a conscious effort to do so. And I want to go to Disney too though more for my kids and then to see their reactions.

  3. Hey Tia, my husband and I went to Disney World for our honeymoon. We had a really good time. I would love to go to Europe too though and kissing in Italy sounds like a dream.

  4. ” life is slightly calmer when you stop fighting for all the control” Love This! I also love that your dream honeymoon would be Disney! Woot! Woot! 😀 I have heard of the new series Outlander but haven’t watched it yet, maybe I will 😀 Great time exchanging with you this week!

  5. What an awesome swap! I totally believe in fairy tales, too! Curling up with a good book, is such an amazing thing…I wish that I had more time to do so! I love some sweet tea, but I don’t drink it like I used to. Some days I just let the crazy seep in! LOL! It is so much easier that way! Hope you have a great week, Tia!

Got something to say?

