Ask Away Friday Vol. 7

How in the world is it mid-July already?!

In a matter of weeks it will be my birthday and my son will be here with us. While I’m looking forward to his visit, I’m a little sad that 2014 is racing by. So I’m just going to ignore it and focus on today. Today is Friday and that means it’s time for another swap with another awesome blogger.

AAFRabiaCollage

This week I swapped with Rabia from The Liebers. Rabia is a sweet mama who blogs about her family, her life, and everything in between. I love that she describes herself as an open book, as I’ve often said the same thing about myself. After you’ve read this, please hop over to her page and see what her answers to my questions are!

And now, on to the show!

1. If you could choose to stay one age forever, what age would you choose?

I know it’s a bit self-serving, but I’d choose 28. That was the last year before I got sick, and though that year had its own struggles, I was healthy enough to deal with them. While my illnesses have made me a stronger person, I’m not above wishing I had never gotten sick.

2. What is your most prized possession?

It’s so hard to choose just one! I have a handful of things that are special to me for different reasons. My engagement rings (all 3!), a bracelet my adopted niece made me, the cards and drawings from my son, my spoon necklace from Misty, a thank you letter from a dear little girl, my brother’s dog tag, the china I inherited from my fiance’s late mother.

3. Tell the world your opinion on: ghosts, aliens, the Loch Ness Monster, and Bigfoot.

It might seem fanciful, but I like to believe in the unknown. I like the possibility that we don’t know EVERYTHING in the universe. There is so much that science hasn’t yet grasped, who am I to say whether there are mermaids or Nessie?

4. I see that you like to read. I’ve been on quite a reading kick lately too. Who are your favorite authors?

Diana Gabaldon, Laurell K. Hamilton, Dan Brown, John Green, Sandra Brown- to name a few.

5. Tell me your five biggest pet peeves.

Oh boy! Okay- People who smack when they eat. Bugs, insects of any kind. Rude people. Inside out dirty socks. People who insist they know more about my health than I do, no matter how well-meaning they are.

6. What is your favorite room in your house? (Bonus points for a picture)

My favorite room in any home is the kitchen. It’s the heart of the home, and where I’m most comfortable. My kitchen may be small and less than ideal (yay apartment living!),  but it’s MINE and it’s where I cook up yummy treats for my fiance. It’s where I find my groove.

cookies
Pumpkin Cookies from my very own kitchen! (click photo for recipe)

7. What is your most vivid childhood memory?

What an interesting question! I have a few that stick out, but probably the most vivid is when I cracked my chin open. I was just barely six years old, and had fallen off the top bunkbed deep asleep. I don’t know when I woke, but I remember opening my eyes and seeing a bright red spot on the white t-shirt of the man picking me up off the floor. (He was a friend of my parents who was over playing cards with them that night.) You know how I always say when I do something medical, I do it BIG? That little fall out of bed resulted in a cracked jaw, 1 1/2 broken teeth, a split upper lip, a torn bottom lip that sliced all the way past my chin, and more stitches than I can remember. I lived off milkshakes for weeks.

8. Would you rather line dance or ballroom dance?

I’d love to learn to ballroom dance! There’s something so classy about it, and I feel like it’s something you might always use.

9. If you could go 100 years into the past or 100 years into the future and spend a week, which would you choose and what would you do?

Well, ala my favorite book series, The Outlander, I’d love to go into the past. There’s something about the corseted fashions that I think would be cool. Besides, I wouldn’t want to go forward and come back knowing what will happen.

10. Do you have a favorite charity or non-profit that you support? Tell us about it.

Most of you know I’m the co-founder of Spoons 4 Spoonies. Though we’re not yet a non-profit, we have a mission that I very much believe in. S4S was started to honor my friend Misty, who lost her battle with chronic illness at just 40 years old. Misty was a sweetheart who made everyone smile. Cindy and I wanted a way to spread that smile to others like us, who live with chronic illness and pain. We took our inspiration from Christine’s Spoon Theory, and I started hand-decorating spoons with messages of hope and love.

(click photo to order yours today!)
(click photo to order yours today!)

We send these spoons to people all over the US who are fighting some battle- RA, MS, cancer, IBD, and many others. These spoons are a way to let people know that while they may feel isolated due to their illness, they’re not alone. We’re here and we understand. It’s a powerful message.

Whew! Rabia sure had some great questions for me! If you’d like to catch up on past swaps, click here. If you have a question for me that I haven’t answered yet, leave it in the comments and I’ll add it in as a bonus question next time! I hope you all have a great weekend, I’ll be spending mine trying not to melt!

15 thoughts on “Ask Away Friday Vol. 7

  1. Pumpkin cookies sounds yummy. My kids love baking cookies, but it’s either chocolate chip or sugar cookies.
    The kitchen is one of many favorite rooms too.
    OMG!!! You really has a bad fall from your bunk bed. My six year old wants a bunk bed, but I’m too scared that he will try jumping from the top bunk and hurt himself. He is always pretending to be a bird. So he is always jumping off the couch flapping his arms. So I can only imagine what he would do if he had a bunk bed.
    I hope you have a great weekend Tia. I didn’t see your link for AAF on a host site, I was not sure if you forgot to add it.

  2. Sonya- The pumpkin cookies are STUPID easy, just 2 ingredients. I bet your kiddos would love them, and love helping to make them! If your son likes to fly, I’m with you- hold off on bunkbeds, at least for a few more years. My fall was completely a fluke, I somehow rolled out while fast asleep. And remember, this was 20+ years ago when there weren’t so many strict guidelines for safety. I bet the ones today are better made.

    I DID forget to add my link! Thanks so much for the reminder! I’ll pop over and do that now. My weekend has been pretty great, I hope yours was too!

  3. First time here! Have you written about your illness before? I’m sure you have but could you send me a link? I’d love to know more about you. I’m on a reading kick lately!

  4. Hey, there. It’s Courtney from The Brown Girl with Long Hair blog stopping by. Wow! What a treat that on my very first visit to your blog — I got to read YOUR #AskAwayFriday responses so that I can get to know YOU better! (Don’t you just love how blogging works!?)

    You are my people. We have much in common, my dear– including rube people being a primary pet peeve; and I also value my engagement rings (and, frankly, ALL the jewelry The Hubs has gifted me), however shallow that is, I invite critics to flame away…)

    Oh, and one more thing: “How in the world is it mid-July already?!”

    THIS. Where is the time going?

    Nice getting to know a little more about you. Have a great day.

    1. Hi Courtney! Thanks so much for stopping by 🙂 It sounds like we have a bit in common, we’ll have to do a swap soon! I don’t think it’s shallow to value gifts from your husband, whether it’s jewelry or stuffed animals or whatever. They’re symbols of love, and those should ALWAYS be valued!

      I hope you have a great day as well!

  5. I love the thought of Nessie! My dream vacation is to Loch Ness! I also love the corseted fashions of the past, they are just so cool. I would also love to learn ballroom dancing, but the hubby won’t even consider it. 😦 I definitely don’t like rude people or inside out dirty socks either! LOL! Then again, I am not a fan of the white load of laundry at all! Have a great week, Tia!

Got something to say?

