Ask Away Friday Vol. 5

This week was another long one, and by Tuesday night I was sure it must be time for the weekend already. Sadly, I was mistaken. BUT! Since we didn’t skip ahead to the weekend, we didn’t miss this week’s dose of Ask Away Friday!

AAFStaceyCollage

This week I swapped with Stacey of This Momma’s Ramblings. Stacey shares a myriad of topics on her blog, which means there’s something for everyone, including some magic trick with glazed donuts that I’m hoping she’ll elaborate on soon! As per usual, we asked each other ten random questions to get to know each other better. Be sure to check out her site today to see her answers for me and learn more about this busy stay at home momma.

And now, her questions for me and my answers:

1. If you could go back in time and interview any historical figure, who would you choose and why?

I would love to go back and interview a young Jackie Kennedy. I’ve always been inspired by her poise, I would love to get a peek into her mind. There is so much speculation about her life with the Kennedys, I would like to get her take on it all, before she was the widowed First Lady and her life changed forever.

2. What is your fondest dream that you have yet to accomplish?

I want to take an extended trip to Europe with my fiance. I spent time in Germany as a young child, I want to go back and see how things have changed. I also want to visit Italy, Scotland, Ireland, Switzerland, Spain, and France. I want to experience it all and make wonderful memories.

3. What would a pamper day include for you?

Oh my! Sleeping in (genuine sleep, not the drug induced sleep of chronic pain). Brunch out with people I love. Then to the salon for a mani/pedi and a spell in those cozy massage chairs. A trip to my favorite hairdresser for a shampoo and style, and of course, one of her great hugs! I’ve also always wanted to have a professional makeover, you know- where they do your makeup and dress you in a new (and flattering) outfit. Then dinner out with my fiance, somewhere we’ve never been before. Maybe we even stay out a little late and take a drive under the stars.

4. I love summertime weenie roasts in our back yard, complete with glazed donuts and s’mores. What is something that you are looking forward to doing this summer?

That glazed donuts thing sounds divine, you’re gonna have to fill me in there… My summer doesn’t really start until my son gets here for his visit, so that’s the main thing I’m looking forward to. My fiance has promised that we’ll take the kiddo and our doggy out to the beach and chase the waves. I might not get to do much running, but it’ll feel phenomenal to have the salty breeze on my skin and to hear the smile in my kiddo’s voice as he searches for sand dollars and seashells for his siblings.

5. If you could go back in time and change one thing about your life, good or bad, what would you change and why?

I wouldn’t change anything. My life may have had its struggles, but each choice led me to where I am today. If I changed even one small thing, I might not have met my son’s father, or my fiance, or the sisters of my heart. And I wouldn’t trade them for all of Midas’ gold.

6. If you were given 1 million dollars, what would you do with it?

Tax free, no strings attached? I would put money aside for my son’s college/trust fund. I would pay off all of mine and my fiance’s debt. I would buy us a reliable car. I would buy a plot of land just outside the city, build a dream home with all the amenities, and a very nice little guest cottage for when my friends and family visit. I would take my fiance and son on a trip to visit all of the Hall of Fames (it’s my fiance’s dream). I would give Cathy money so she could take better care of herself and not have to work so hard. I would give money to Tracie so her family could have their dream home (and I would pray that home is in Oregon!). I would pay off Teala’s school loans so she and her fiance could start their lives together debt free. I would make a visit to see Fallah and her miracle baby. I would give big gifts to all of my friends, to everyone whoever helped me when we needed it. I would donate to an animal rescue in the name of my own rescue doggy, and my good friend Natalie who is the world’s biggest animal lover.

Goodness, I’ve probably spent that million many times over. Mostly, I just want to make our lives and the lives of those we love a little easier and spread as much joy as I can.

7. Do you have a favorite recipe from your childhood that you now make for your family? 

My mom would make this wonderful beef stew. It was peppery, hearty, full of flavor, and could warm your body and soul with just one spoonful. I make it now, in my crockpot usually, and though I’ve tweaked the recipe a bit, it’s just as comforting and is served best with fresh homemade bread or rolls.

8. Do you have a favorite book that you will read over and over? What is it?

I don’t think I have a single book that I read over and over, but I’ve read the Outlander books at least ten times. They truly are my favorites.

9. What is something that blogging has taught you about yourself?

Oh goodness! Oodles! It’s taught me that my words have power. It’s taught me that it’s possible to “meet” people who will change your life and become family, even if you’ve never met in person. It’s taught me where my personal lines are, what I’m willing to share with the world, and what is absolutely private. (No tales of the bedroom, y’all, unless it’s funny pillow talk!) 

10. What is your favorite thing about being a mom to a teen?

This sounds so crappy as a mom, but I love that he’s self-sufficient. Since I battle chronic pain and fatigue, I like that he’s old enough to bathe himself and make himself breakfast. I may still have to check that he put on deodorant (What is it with BOYS?!), but it saves me a lot of physical strain to not be bending over a bathtub or wrestling a toddler into clothes. I know there are moms out there who do it despite their illness, and I’m sure I would if I had to, but it’s nice that he can do for himself. I also love that I can have intelligent conversations with him and explore his growing mind.

 

Thanks so much for joining me for another Friday swap. If you’d like to join in the fun and meet some awesome blogger friends, check out the Ask Away Friday Facebook page. And don’t forget to check out Stacey’s site to see what I asked her and what she had to say.

Happy Weekend, y’all! Get out there and enjoy it!

15 thoughts on “Ask Away Friday Vol. 5

  1. Aw. I’d want to get money for Tracie’s dream home too. Maybe it can happen. There is a lot of power in blogging, as you said.
    Jackie Kennedy is a great answer. I would also love to go to Europe for a long trip. And I’ve never left North America!
    I have a toddler and a preschooler and it takes a LOT of energy, you’re right. Lots of wrestling them in and out of clothes and baths.

    1. Tamara- I’ll keep dreaming for Tracie’s dream home 🙂 What I remember of Europe is gorgeous, and that was 25 years ago…I can only imagine what it would be like to see it all as an adult. How about I dream you get to go, as well? 🙂

  2. I totally agree with you on the ‘self-sufficient’ thing being a bonus of being a mom to a teen. I love that I can not worry if he ate, showered, etc. Well on most days anyway… LOL

  3. You’ve got really great things to do with your 1 million dollars! 🙂 You’re so blessed with wonderful family and friends who are there for you all the time. Love your answer about what blogging taught you about yourself. I think we have similar answers.. 🙂 Having a self-sufficient child at least makes your life a little easier.

    1. Thanks Rea! I’m super blessed that my son understands that I’m not the same mom who used to crawl around on the floor with him, and that’s he’s adapted to my illness better than most family members. Water therapy is really good for me, so we spend a lot of time in the pool in the summer, which just happens to be his favorite thing, so it works out nicely 🙂

    1. Amber- I dream of eating pasta in Italy, drinking a real beer in Germany, and having an honest-to-goodness eclair. I want to take in all the history, the art while gorging myself on REAL food, not the Americanized versions of it 🙂

  4. I really want you to win your million. I have been to Europe, but never with my husband – I would love to go so much. So the boy/hygiene thing just keeps going? Dang. Still, you have a great outlook on being mom to a teen!

    1. Jen- Sadly, the hygiene thing is still an issue. Fortunately he bathes now without too much battle, but I still have to do the sniff test. Maybe it stops when they finally become interested in girls? Ugh.

  5. Hey Tia, you have such a kind heart. Hopefully, you can will a lot of money and help out people who are in need. I’m about to stalk your blog and social media for a little while to come up with some AAF questions 🙂

    1. Thanks Sonya! I’ve been blessed to know a lot of wonderful people who’ve helped me out over the years. It would be lovely to one day be able to repay all of that, and pay some forward as well 🙂

  6. Oh I love your answers! I seriously dream of traveling through Europe…I know that hubby would love to visit all of the WW2 sites throughout and me I would just love to experience the history in Ireland, Scotland, and the UK…maybe a walking tour, stay in a castle, go to Loch Ness…sadly we would need several months to do all that we dream of. LOL! But hey a girl can dream! I also have dreams of a mani/pedi with my lil miss and my oldest son, we would have such a wonderful time, the three of us…not that I would exclude my lil man, but he is more of a lets go paint balling! LOL! Here is the glazed donut trick…roasting them over an open fire, just like a marshmallow…just until the glaze starts to bubble…oh my they are absolutely divine! LOL! I have a new trick where I stuff a marshmallow gently into the center of the glazed donut and roast them together! OH MY Goodness! I don’t know why it took me 41 years to come up with it! LOL! I know what you mean…my million would go quick, too! I used to love my mom’s beef stew, too! I wish my hubby liked stews, but he is not a fan. I am going to read the Outlander series, soon! I do kind of miss the baby stage, but I totally agree with you about loving the self sufficient kiddo. Thank you so much for swapping with me! Have a great week, Tia!

  7. I am with you, I would love some extra sleep. I am so exhausted this week and I couldn’t go to sleep last night due to my pain levels.

    We need some superpowers to take away our pain even if it is only for ONE day. 😉

    1. I’m sorry you’re having a high pain week, Christy 😦 If it feels better to know you’re not alone, you’re not. I’ve been flaring and PMSing at the same time, which should be illegal if you ask me, and so sleep has been a tad illusive here too.
      Here’s to a hopefully restful weekend for us both!

Got something to say?

