Ask Away Friday Vol. 4

It’s Friday, which means it’s almost the weekend, woohoo!

It also means it’s time for another round of questions from a new blogger friend! This week I swapped with Echo from Domain of the Mad Mommy. Echo describes herself as “a wife, mother, homeschooler, blogger, and partial lunatic.” When I read that- “partial lunatic”- I was pretty certain we’d have a great swap! Please be sure to check out her site to see her answers to my questions, and while you’re there, check out the awesome craftyΒ kiddo activities she has!

AAFEchoCollage

And now, my answers for her…

1. I had never seen the term “spoonie” before reading your blog. Do a lot of people ask you what a “spoonie” is? (I’m not ashamed to admit, I Googled.)

I had thought I had linked to Christine Miserandino’s The Spoon Theory somewhere in my bio, but clearly I imagined that haha! My gal Dawnie actually introduced the term to me, so many of my friends/readers are already familiar with the history. I do get asked occasionally, and am always happy for the opportunity to raise awareness for the chronic/invisible illness community.

2. What are some of the coping skills that you have developed to handle your chronic illness?

I’m still learning new coping skills every day, since no single day is the same. Good ones to remember: Have patience with yourself. Learn to ask for help. Rest as often as your body needs. Keep a notebook to jot down symptoms and questions. Live in the moment.

3. I see that you enjoy cooking! What is the best thing that you have EVER eaten?

Oh man! I love food, I’m not ashamed to say it. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE food. Best thing I have EVER eaten? Probably the shrimp fettuccine alfredo I had at a little restaurant in Lincoln City, Oregon. They have an herb garden, all their dressings and sauces are homemade and the seafood was fresh that day. It was a flavor explosion that I’ve never been able to duplicate.

4. To go with #3, what is the worst thing you have EVER eaten?

I can’t think of a particular meal, but here are some things I hate to eat: Green beans. Peas. Pretty much anything that gets mushy, like soggy bread. Avocados (I know!). Tomatoes (mostly cuz they’ll kill me- I’m allergic). Onions. Cooked spinach. Beans. Bananas.

5. What are your 3 favorite hobbies?

Reading. Puzzles, any kind. Games with my fiance.

6. I deal with mental illness on a daily basis. Between my son and I, it is a never ending battle. If you could, would you change your mental illness or is it too much a part of you?

There are certainly days I wish I was “normal.” But honestly? I think it’s an integral part of me. Would I have the same understanding and compassion if I hadn’t fought my own battles? I don’t think so. And that understanding and compassion has lead to some of my greatest joys, so I wouldn’t want to change that.

7. Tell me about your family! (Human and Animal)

I have 12 brothers and sisters (blended family), but am only close to two sisters. I have rough relations with a few, but technically have three sets of parents. I have more aunts, uncles, and cousins than I can count, and sadly, I’m not very close to most of them. (Are we sensing a pattern here?) I have my fiance, my 13 year old son, and our 6 year old Lhasa Apso-Todd. I also have adopted my best guy friend as my brother and many of my best gals as sisters of my heart. They and their families have become mine, and are closer to me than blood.

8. If you had an expense paid trip handed to you, but you had to get on a plane IMMEDIATELY, would you go?

Assuming “IMMEDIATELY” would at least offer enough time to pack, grab my meds, etc, HECK YES! There are so many places I have yet to see, and money is often too tight to just pack up and go.

9. What is your favorite part about blogging? (Mine is the wonderful people I have come across!)

There’s so much about it that I love! It’s cathartic to write about this crazy life. I love “meeting” new readers and fellow bloggers, it’s fascinating to see how much we have in common with relative strangers. And I love that my words might be helpful to someone, I know there are blogs that have helped me.

10. You enjoy reading! What is one book that I should read this year?

I love reading like a bear loves hibernation. It is such a piece of who I am, I feel myself slip away a bit when I haven’t been able to curl up with a good book. One book this year? The obvious answer is The Fault In Our Stars. Even though it might be intended for a younger audience, it touched me deeply and I loved it, even as I cried. If you’ve read that, my go-to recommendations are always the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon and the Merry Gentry series by Laurell K. Hamilton. The second can be a little racy, but they’re both so very well written, the reader is drawn into their worlds. Which, to me, is the best thing about reading, and the mark of a great author.

I am really loving this Ask Away Friday series, and getting to share more about myself while also discovering new blogging friends. If you’d like to join, please check out their Facebook group. And don’t forget to stop by Echo’s site, tell her I sent you!

17 thoughts on “Ask Away Friday Vol. 4

  1. Can’t imagine that you hate eating avocados and bananas. Hehe. I love them. I think that’s what others would tell me too if they found out I hate carrots and onions. LOL. I’ve never read The Fault In Our Stars and have never watched the movie too. I think that even though the characters are youngsters, everyone can actually relate to it. πŸ™‚

  2. Hey Tia, the shrimp with freshly made sauce sounds yummy. All the foods on your least favorite list are my favorites πŸ™‚

  3. I loved your answers! Sometimes, I too, think it would be easier to live without mental health issues, but then I realize that they are part of our makeup. Our personalities and I wouldn’t want to change that! Thanks for swapping with me!

  4. That dish you described sounds incredible! There is no way to beat fresh ingredients – they always make everything better!!
    That was a tough question about if you would change your mental illness. I’m not sure how I would answer. I would love to not battle the anxiety and depression, but at the same time I know it has shaped who I am. Tough…
    The Fault in Our Stars is on my summer reading list!! Can’t wait to get to it!
    Have a great weekend!

  5. Reading and puzzles are some of my favorite hobbies, too! And I love your coping mechanisms answer- have patience with yourself! So important. I’ve tried to have patience with myself so many times when going through super depressed or anxious times- doesn’t always come easily!
    I really need to read A Fault in Our Stars already, everyone’s talking about it since the movie came out. Book nerds unite! πŸ™‚
    Loved reading your answers! Hope you’re having a good weekend πŸ™‚

    1. Christy- Thanks so much! I had a crazy weekend, but it was nice to come back and see all the lovely comments on this post! Reading and puzzles are things I’ve loved since I was small. They hold some great memories for me πŸ™‚

  6. Hi Tia! I am so with you on the moo shy foods thing. Texture is a BIG influence on what I eat and I haven’t tried avocados for that very reason… LOL At least I know I’m not alone πŸ™‚

  7. I didn’t ever hear the word spoonie until I was immersed into the chronic pain category. I had to find a support system outside of my family and wanted to connect with others in pain simply because they understand what I go through.

    I am also a huge food lover especially junk food. I need to go on a diet, Im sure my weight doesn’t help things but its hard.

    1. The spoonie community is full of great support. You’re right, Christy, no one else can truly understand what we go through except those who are there as well. I should also diet, but it’s hard when my doc has limited what exercise I can do and the meds make it hard to lose weight. I’ve just tried to maintain moderation in everything. I haven’t lost a ton of weight this way, but I haven’t gained any back either. We could support each other with tips and recipes, if you’re interested πŸ™‚

  8. What a wonderful swap! I am so with you on the food loving thing! LOL! Especially sweets of any kind! LOL! My hubby and I used to put puzzles together, but we haven’t for years, I kind of miss doing them. I have had so many people recommend The Outlander series and I keep forgetting to grab it from the library, I am going to have to do that soon! Hope you have a great week, Tia!

    1. Stacey- My fiance doesn’t usually like to do the puzzles with me. I used to do them with my grandmother when I was young, it’s still one of my greatest joys. So I can curl up with one while he’s practicing with his guitar and we’re both content, doing our own thing- but together πŸ™‚

Got something to say?

