Ask Away Friday Vol. 2

I’m back with another edition of Ask Away Friday, where I swap ten questions with a fellow blogger and we get to know each other a little better. This week I swapped with Christy from Uplifting Families.

AAFChristyCollage

Christy is a mom to three kiddos, married, and living in Texas. She writes about a variety of her passions, including encouraging working moms to continue breastfeeding and preschool projects with her toddler. Christy is also a spoonie, which means she had some insight to the questions she asked me this week. Read along and then hop over to her site to see her answers to my questions for her.

1. I am a spoonie, too. Do you have any tips or suggestions on how to deal
with major flares up?

Because I battle a few different chronic illnesses (RA, IBS, and IC), I have varying tips depending on what is acting up at any given time. My most important tip is to be kind to yourself. The chores can wait, your family will understand, the world will not implode if you lay down and nap.

2. We have three dogs and they have been a huge blessing for me even
though they aren’t therapy dogs. Do you feel that your doggy is keeping you
company and helping with the depression that comes with living in constant
pain?

Todd has been such a blessing! Even though we’ve only had him about a month, I can’t imagine our lives without him. He seems to know just when I’m feeling my worst and will curl up next to me so I can pet him, which seems to ease my depression and anxiety. I’ve even had a few really bad pain days where he’s been content to nap at the foot of my bed with me with minimal interruption.

3. Since I’ve been off work, I have found some amazing resources for
dealing with chronic pain. What is your favorite go to resource? I am
a part of two private groups on Facebook.

RAWarrior.com is a wonderful resource that combines personal stories with up and coming research and news in the world of rheumatoid arthritis. Of course, I’m also very fond of Spoons 4 Spoonies where the inspirational messages are just as much for me as they are for our community. Pajama Daze is also a great site that offers news, recipes, crafts, and stories from spoonies around the world.

4. As a fellow spoonie, I have had to find some new hobbies. What new
hobbies have you picked up since you got diagnosed with chronic pain?

Shortly after my diagnosis, I refound some hobbies from my younger years. Writing has become a big part of my life, as well as jigsaw puzzles and crafts. And my love for reading has even increased with the helpful encouragement of a few of my dear friends. I’m never lonely with a good book in my hand.

5. What is one hobby do you miss the most because you no longer can do it
due to your chronic illness?

I actually touched on this recently. One of the crafts I picked up after my diagnosis was cross-stitching, I even started creating original designs and selling my creations on Storenvy. However, earlier this year the twisting of fingers on my right hand have made it difficult to hold a needle any longer, and so I’ve had to give it up.

6. How long have you been blogging and why did you start blogging?

I first started blogging shortly after my divorce on that old relic Myspace. I started my first actual blog back in 2010 with the encouragement of my fiance. Writing has always been a passion of mine, and I used that blog to share my quirky fun side. I took a hiatus when life got a little tough, though. I started this blog with the encouragement of Misty, Tracie, and Teala. The idea here has always been to share my life as a spoonie with the hope that maybe I’ll help someone on their path with chronic illness.

7. What is your favorite social media tool? I personally love twitter
because of the instant conversations.

Oh how I love Twitter! I love the instant conversations as well, but I really love that I allow myself to have less of a filter there. On Facebook, I have family and the children of friends who follow me. So I tend to scale it back a bit there. On Twitter, I allow myself to speak my mind with little filtering, and it’s freeing.

8. Do you have any plans this summer?

My son visits us in the summer, so we have lots of family plans. A trip to the space and air museum with an indoor waterpark, a trip to the coast to watch the kiddo and dog chase the waves, and hopefully some family photos.

9. If you could have a fun day without any pain or brain fog, what would
you do?

Oh, I would want to do it all! Go for a long walk with my fiance, maybe on the coast. I would love to be able to drive again and go for a long drive in the country. I would like to take a day trip to Portland and visit Shevaun and Joules, maybe go to the Melting Pot for dinner after an afternoon spent at Powell’s bookstore.

10. What is your favorite “me” time activity?

I love curling up with a good book. I’m a HUGE fan of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series as well as the Merry Gentry series from Laurell K. Hamilton. I recently joined a local book club and am broadening my horizons with books like The Fault In Our Stars and Eleanor & Park.

I had SUCH a great time answering Christy’s questions. I hope you’ve maybe learned a little more about me. If you’d like to join in Ask Away Friday, check them out on Facebook. And be sure to check out Christy’s answers to my questions over on her site today.

6 thoughts on “Ask Away Friday Vol. 2

  1. I love your answers. Very insightful and encouraging for others. I picked up reading shortly after I was diagnosed too because it is something I can do. I found a love for mystery books.
    I am a part of several Facebook groups for Spoonies too. They have been terrific.

    I am thankful that I still can drive at the moment. I keep it to short distances and avoid long trips if at all possible.

  2. I had never heard the term “spoonie” before but I get it now!
    I wish for many days for you without any pain or brain fog so you can go on these trips.

  3. I love the part about the dog- that’s a big reason that I want one, too! I’ve struggled with depression and anxiety since I was a teenager- and lately I’ve thought how wonderful it would be to have a dog to cuddle with. It’s nice to hear that yours is a big comfort.
    Jigsaw puzzles rock. I think it plays to the part of my mind that needs a calming, rational activity. It’s so satisfying, isn’t it?
    Book lovers unite 🙂 I love getting such awesome recommendations from fellow bloggers!
    Have a good weekend!

  4. You are the second person to mention the Outlander series, I think I’m going to have to check them out. I’m also going to have to see what “spoonie” is all about. It doesn’t sound like fun…I’m sorry you both have to deal with it.

    1. Thank you for the comment! The term “spoonie” is derived from The Spoon Theory by Christine Miserandino. I definitely encourage anyone to read it, it really sheds some light on what it’s like to live with a chronic illness.
      As for the Outlander books, they are by far my favorites. She has book 8 coming out this month!

Got something to say?

