Ask Away Friday Vol. 1

Once again I’ve been inspired by Miss Tracie.

After reading her post a few weeks ago, I was intrigued by this #AskAwayFriday thing. I commented on Twitter and was encouraged to join their Facebook group. I did and I got my first swap!

PicMonkey Collage

Lanaya from Raising Reagan graciously volunteered to be my first swap. Lanaya describes herself as an “OCD perfectionist  raising a precocious toddler.” She shares everything from life as a working mom, fitness tips, and recipes. I’m looking forward to getting to know her better, so be sure to pop over and see her answers to my questions!

And now, my answers for her:

1. You recently became the proud parents of Todd, a cute little dog. What breed is he and did you happen to ask the previous owner how he came about his name?

Todd is a purebred Lhasa Apso. As for his name, his last owner told us that all pets get names when they are brought into rescue. Todd was the name he was given, though we don’t know why. He answered to it well, so his last owner never changed it and neither have we.

2. You created Spoons for Spoonies as a way to help people dealing with sickness know that they are not alone; someone is in their corner. When did you start this mission?

Spoons 4 Spoonies was officially created in June of 2013, though Cindy and I had been brainstorming for a few months prior. Rene and Rob both came on board early this year and we feel like this is the perfect mix of people. We’re hoping to ramp up our outreach, so if you have time, please check out our campaign!

3. You have stated that you love helping people, yet it makes you anxious. {A therapy breakthrough!} What adjustments have you made to calm your anxiety?

Oh lordy. Well, the honest answer is that I haven’t made many adjustments yet. I have a list of things I need to work on, but I’m horrible about it. My therapist really wants me to be focusing my energies on more self-care. I’m just awful about setting that time aside for myself, I still would rather help someone else. It’s a work-in-progress.

4. I suffer from the “don’t take my own advice because why should I?” dilemma that you do on occasion. My biggest piece of advice that I constantly ignore is to “Just Breathe.” What advice do you give that you think you ignore the most?

This can be tied into the answer above. I’m always telling people how they need to take care of themselves so they can be better for their loved ones. And yet, I just can’t seem to get myself to do it, even though I know it’s for the best.

5. You mentioned that gift baskets make you crazy happy. What is one gift basket you would love to make and who would it be for?

OOH! It’s so hard to choose just one! The thing I love about gift baskets is being able to personalize them. So for you, I’d probably include things like: organizer tabs for your planner, a bartender’s cocktail book, personalized recipe cards, or fun headbands for when you work out.

6. My daughter Reagan LOVES artichokes! She will either eat them with mayonnaise or melted butter with lemon. Do you dip your choke in anything?

I love them with mayo! (Not exactly figure friendly, but where’s the fun in that?!) I also make a yummy bacon-artichoke dip that is great with warm bread, which is my preferred method of chowing down on chokes 🙂

7. You own more slippers than shoes .. care to share how many pairs of slippers you own?

At the moment I have two pairs of soled slippers, two pairs of fuzzy indoor slippers with non-skid bottoms, and at least three pairs of non-skid slipper socks. I also have two pairs of moccasins which are both shoes and slippers.

8. Name one favorite song from the 80’s, 90’s and 2000’s that you love … Go.

It’s so hard for me to pick just one favorite, so I’ll name a song that kinda personifies each era for me…

80’s – Don’t You Forget About Me, Simple Minds

90’s – Everlong, Foo Fighters

00’s – Seven Nation Army, The White Stripes

9. What is your favorite guilty pleasure to eat?

Oh man! I love food, so this mostly depends on my mood. The above mentioned bacon-artichoke dip is a big favorite. Nachos are always acceptable. Pretty much anything with either cheese or chocolate, really. Ha!

10. My signature question:

a. Trade places with one blogger for the day .. who do you pick?

If I could also get their writing ability, I choose Teala from Melt Into The Text. I’ve always wished I could write poetry and such. Teala has a lovely way of spinning words into a feeling or visual that always leaves me touched.

b. Trade places with one blog for the day … which blog do you takeover?

I’d love to take over Tracie’s blog From Tracie. Of all my blogger friends, she has it all together. A great look, a mix of light and serious, tons of wonderful photos. I aspire to have my blog be more like hers.

c. Trade places with one celebrity for the day … who do you become?

Oh goodness! Well, I wouldn’t mind being Mrs. Chester Bennington for the day. Or the soon to be Mrs. Johnny Depp or Mrs. Adam Levine.

(It’s a good thing my fiance knows I love him!)

d. And finally … trade places with one historical figure for the day … who do you choose, what day {if applicable} and why?

I struggled with this question the most. While there are many historical figures I would love to meet or interview, I don’t think I could be strong enough to take their place for the day. I’ve always admired Jackie Kennedy Onassis, for example, but I don’t think I could have her poise and strength. So while I’d love to interview her, have coffee with her, I wouldn’t want to trade places with her. Does that make me a chicken?

 

I had SO MUCH fun doing this swap! I can’t thank Lanaya enough for all of her thoughtful and fun questions. Please check out her site and see what questions I asked her and her answers!

7 thoughts on “Ask Away Friday Vol. 1

  1. This was so fun to read! And I’m touched and flattered that you’d want to trade places with me for a day. :o) Now, I’m going to write a poem about the WonderTwins.

  2. Hello Tia! Welcome to AskAwayFriday! 🙂 It’s really funny how we can readily give advices to others when we ourselves couldn’t follow the advices we give. I find myself doing that too sometimes!

    I also think that gift baskets are so lovely and a great way to show our thoughtfulness. Hope you have a great weekend!

  3. I loved swapping with you! And I absolutely want that gift basket now! You are right, anything with cheese is a must in my book. 😉
    I’m going to have to check out this artichoke dip you speak of. I love artichoke dip in general. Yum! Now I’m hungry again 😉
    Thank you for the swap and welcome to our group!!

    xoxo
    Lanaya

  4. Hi Tia! So nice to meet you! I share your slipper love. I currently have no less than 10 pair and they range from soled ones (that I may occasionally run to the Post Office in) to the fuzzy furry no slip kind. Don’t even get me started on the prints 😀 I hope you are having the start of a wonderful week and it was great getting to know you a bit through Lanaya’s questions.

  5. Hello Tia! It is wonderful to meet you and have you joining the #AAF family! Wow, Spoons for Spoonies is such a wonderful idea! My mom had Multiple Sclerosis and so many of those invisible diseases are just horrible. I too, love slippers! My favorites are the flip flop kind with a sole, since I am forever traipsing out to water my garden in them! I completely agree that you can never go wrong with cheese and chocolate! Hope you have a wonderful week!

Got something to say?

