When Life Comes Together

We have a new family member!

If you follow along on Twitter or Instagram, you’ve probably seen this guy:

10151889_254849231366798_4921597067528973288_n

His name is Todd (or Buddy, which he happens to like just as well) and he is my new therapy dog. Todd started his life as a therapy dog but was abused by his first handler. He was rescued and adopted about five years ago. Recently, his owner found she wasn’t able to care for him anymore.

I’ve been begging my fiance for a doggy for ages. Since I spend most of my days home alone, I’ve been craving a pet to keep me company. Neither of us are big cat people, so I’ve spent the last many months looking for a doggy. We’ve always wanted to adopt instead of buy from a breeder because we know there are many pets out there that need a happy home. Our problem has always been finances.

We’ve been firm believers that it’s not fair to bring a pet home unless we’re absolutely sure we can provide for them. When we thought we had found a little bit of room in the budget to provide for dog food and incidentals, I started to look at various rescue agencies in our area. And I was heartbroken. Most, if not all, agencies wanted huge adoption fees. The local humane society wanted nearly $200 to cover the adoption. While we might have been able to eke out enough room in the budget for food, there was no way we could come up with that kind of money for an adoption.

You ever have moments where life just lets things come together?

Todd’s owner and I have the same doctor. The doctor mentioned to me that she knew of someone that needed a new home for their dog but didn’t want any fees, and I asked her to pass along my email. My doctor also offered to write a letter to our property manager to certify Todd as a therapy dog, thereby negating the required pet deposit. Todd’s owner emailed me later that week, and we had a few visits to see if Todd liked us. Honestly, for us it was love at first sight.

So Todd came to live with us this weekend. He has made himself at home, even sleeping at the foot of our bed last night. He has a chair in the living room where he can look out the window and watch the cars pass by, but he seems to prefer to nap on the couch where he can be in reach, he likes it if we pet him while he naps.

We’re so very blessed to have Todd in our lives. He’s already brought us such joy and calm, it’s obvious that this was the right thing for all of us. We’re extremely grateful that everything came together so that we could give Todd a new home and that he could bring us so much love.

2 thoughts on “When Life Comes Together

  1. This is one of the best blog posts I’ve ever read!! I know you have been wanting a dog for a long time, and I’m SO happy it worked out so perfectly for you. ❤

Got something to say?

