Please Help Me Help You

There are a number of people who have made this life with chronic illness much more than just livable.

From day one, my fiance has held my hand through all the peaks and valleys. He’s rubbed my back as I lay crying in pain and he’s argued with doctors to fight for the care I deserve and need. He’s been my rock, my champion, my  caregiver, and so much more.

From early on, I’ve had friends who spilled their love and support across the interweb lines. Dawnie, Teala, Tracie, Cathi, Cindy, Fallah, Natalie, Andrea, and so many others sent care packages, cards, letters, and any helpful tips they could find.

Cathy, Kristen and Seth, and Kerry have brought smiles to my days. They stopped by with care packages, came to watch movies and chit chat, made me feel feminine with a new haircut, and made me laugh over a game of cribbage. They all let me know they were only a call or text away. They supported my fiance while I was in and out of the hospital.

All of these bright spots in my life have become family. And if I think back, I know opening my heart to find friends who understood my battle all started with Misty reaching out to me. Misty, and all of these wonderful people, showed me that it was possible to thrive, love, and LIVE while still battling chronic pain and illness.

They gave me a reason to not give in and give up. They give me hope.

I created Spoons 4 Spoonies as a way to share that hope with others. I know not everyone who fights this battle has someone in their corner. I know that being sick can be isolating and make us feel so very lonely. I know what it’s like to lay in bed and wonder why I bother to get up at all.

Spoons 4 Spoonies is for all of us who fight something that can’t be seen. It’s for our loved ones and caregivers. At its very core, it is love.

For months now, we behind the scenes at S4S have been brainstorming how to spread that love even farther, how to offer more ways to change lives and better the world. We have a ton of ideas, including care packages, spoon jewelry, t-shirts, and motivational cards created from original artwork. We’ve outlined some initial plans to expand our reach and we’re eager to start as soon as possible.

Since we are just a few of us with a big dream and limited bank accounts, we’ve started an Indiegogo campaign to try to raise funds. None of the money raised is for personal use, every last cent raised will go to Spoons 4 Spoonies’ mission.

As much as I despise asking for help, I need y’all to help. Please check out the campaign. If you can contribute, I will be forever grateful. If all you can do is share the campaign with others, I will still be grateful. Every single act, every single dollar, helps.

We just want to make this world a little brighter, like someone once did for us. Won’t you please help?

Got something to say?

