I Don’t Listen To Me

One of the greatest questions of the universe:

Why is it so much easier to give great advice than it is to follow it?

I consider myself fairly active in the chronic illness community. Through the Spoons 4 Spoonies page and many others on Facebook, I’m always the positive one. I’m quick to remind my fellow spoonies that we need to be gentle with ourselves, that we deserve patience.

So then, why is it so damn hard for me to take my own words to heart?

Why do I beat myself up when I’m having a high pain day and can’t do chores? Why do I push myself further than is safe more days than not?

I don’t really have the answers. I should know better by now, I DO know better, but I do it any way. I’m harder on myself than anyone else, usually to my own detriment.

I don’t have much more to say today. I’m tired and sore and my mind is in a million different places. The words are all coming but colliding in a mess that I have yet to decipher. I’m trying to be kind to myself, but finding it hard.

So if anyone needs me, I’ll be over here trying to take my own advice.

3 thoughts on “I Don’t Listen To Me

  1. Oh Tia. I know exactly of which you speak. Knowing better, offering better to those around us, and yet not giving ourselves the gifts we give to others.

    I hope you found some rest yesterday. You do deserve it.

    And I’m going to tell you what I know you would tell me (because you always give good advice)… You can only do what you can do. Each small step is enough. You are enough. And you are amazing.

Got something to say?

