Clearing Out For Lent, 40 Bags In 40 Days

Though I don’t consider myself a practicing Catholic, I’ve always tried to participate in Lent, to some extent.

I like the concept of evaluating my life and the things in it that I’ve given some level of importance. I’ve given up chocolate, soda, alcohol, even swearing. At the end of the 40 days, I often pick up the habit again, but usually to a smaller degree.

This year, I was struggling. With all that I’ve got on my plate right now, I knew I would be setting myself up for failure if I were to try to give up one of my few vices. When I’m stressed or overwhelmed, I rely on those small things for comfort. Knowing that I’m already in a fragile mental state, I knew that any sort of perceived failure would be more devastating than I could handle right now. So I told my fiance, no Lent for me this year. I promised to continue working on my self-care and my health and that would be enough.

Then today I stumbled across this link from Jana.

I was instantly intrigued. I don’t think we have 40 bags of stuff in this little apartment, but there definitely are areas of clutter that could use some attention. The more I thought about it, the more inspired I  became. I realized I could tailor this to fit my spoonie lifestyle and my current focus on mental health while still keeping with the spirit of the act. I giddily shared the link on my Facebook profile and asked if anyone would join me.

Y’all, that post blew up and I already have a few dear friends on board!

So this is my plan.

I will focus on one project each day. Today’s project is my kitchen, specifically the dirty dishes that are cluttering up the sink. Tomorrow’s project is my craft supplies. On days when I have appointments with my therapist, I will count that as “emotional decluttering.”

I will be listing items on Craigslist and Ebay when I can, and donating to my local shelter any items that might be appropriate. I will be counting daily chores because, as any spoonie can tell you, they can quickly pile up and become clutter. I will be keeping y’all updated on my progress, interspersed with posts about my path to a better me.

My goal is to focus on the things I am accomplishing versus what might not get done. This is a time to clear out some junk, both physically and mentally, and that means not adding more junk by beating myself up over “woulda, coulda, shoulda.”

I hope you all will join me. Think of how much lighter we’ll feel at the end of it all. Think of the lives you may change with your donations. Think of how happy you’ll be with that extra closet space. Think of the extra cash from selling off those odds and ends. Think of how happy your heart will feel when you accomplish a little something each day.

One thought on “Clearing Out For Lent, 40 Bags In 40 Days

Got something to say?

