Loving One Another

Something I’ve always struggled with is loving myself and accepting that I’m worthy of the love of others.

My self worth tends to fluctuate, usually in accordance with how well I’m battling back the Depression. I’ve been in a bit of a rough patch these past few weeks and so I’ve been feeling pretty unlovable. Luckily, I’m blessed to have wonderful people in my life who remind me that I am loved no matter how I’m feeling.

Not everyone is that lucky.

Some of us have little to no support system. Some of us struggle not only with self worth, but a sense of self. Some of us look into the mirror and see things we’d like to change about ourselves: our eyes, those wrinkles, our love handles. But, while we might like to change a few things, we KNOW that person in the mirror is us.

Some of us don’t.

Some of us look in the mirror and are confused. Why do I look female when I feel very much more like a man? Why do I feel so feminine when I see this masculine figure in front of me? Why do I feel both masculine and feminine? Why isn’t there an option for that? Why don’t I fit in?

I’m fortunate enough that while I might not always like the me I see in the mirror, I am secure in the knowledge that it is ME. I’m fortunate that I fit into what society sees as “normal.”

Not all of us are so lucky.

No matter what your personal beliefs on the topic of gender or sexuality may be, we must never lose sight that we are PEOPLE. We have hearts and feelings just like the person next to us. And at the core of it all, we just want to love and be loved.

My heart has been broken this week with the slew of hate across my Facebook and Twitter feeds. So what if you don’t agree with someone’s gender non-conformity or their sexuality? Does that give you the right to tell another they are wrong? Does that make it okay to tell them with your words and actions that they are unworthy of love? Does that mean they are any less lovable because they don’t fit into your perception of what’s “right?”

No matter your point of view, NO ONE has the right to tell someone how they should feel about themselves or others. For just a moment, take your personal beliefs out of the picture and just SEE someone. See that they are a person just like us and we are all worthy of love.

If the people in my life can love me and accept me with all my flaws, mistakes, and quirks, I am confidant that everyone can be loved the same. Let’s put aside the judgement and open our hearts.

We all deserve love, today and always.

Got something to say?

