Welcoming A New Year

I’m back!

After a whirlwind move and a week-long visit to my parents’ for the holidays, I have been trying to play catch-up. Finally, today, I feel like I can take a few moments to sit down and tell you what I’ve been up to.

Exactly one week before Christmas, on a freezing cold Wednesday night, we signed all the paperwork and got keys to our new apartment. Because my fiance works Monday through Friday, we made plans to move that following weekend, when we could also have help from my brother and friends.

That Sunday was a flurry of boxes, bubble wrap, tape, and a Uhaul truck. By dinner time, we had all the big items moved and in place. There were just a few car-loads left at the old apartment and the new one was piled high with boxes waiting to be unpacked. Exhausted and weary, my fiance and I had fast food for dinner and promptly passed out.

Monday was spent cleaning the old apartment and moving the last few items. We unpacked only the essential items in the new place, and dug out the suitcases. It was time to get ready for our vacation!

Christmas Eve dawned foggy and chilly. We ran our last minute errands and boarded the train to my hometown. The train ride was as relaxing as we’d hoped it would be, no worrying about the icy roads through the mountains. We sat back and read, chatted, listened to music, and played games.

Christmas with my parents and sisters was exactly what I’d thought it would be. Full of love and chaos. We spent the week catching up with extended family, congratulating my step-dad’s promotion to Chief, and watching my youngest sister’s weight-lifting competition. Monday we boarded the train back home, tired from all the fun and ready to be back in our surroundings.

New Year’s Eve was my fiance’s first day back to work. While he got caught up on what he’d missed, I attempted to tackle the mountain of boxes in our living room.

And that’s where I’ve been for the last week. Tackling boxes.

It’s amazing, really. You don’t think there’s so much stuff in just a little one bedroom apartment. And since our new apartment is THE EXACT SAME FLOORPLAN as the last one, I’m not sure how I’ve ended up with all this extra stuff and no place to put it. Maybe when we changed the layout of the furniture, we lost some storage. Who knows?

Anyhow, our home is finally starting to resemble some sort of order. My kitchen is nearly back to what I consider proper, and the mountain of boxes has dwindled down to just a few stacked on top of the desk. Because I’ve apparently lost some storage, I spent one whole day purging. I shredded old paperwork, re-organized my craft table, and set aside a bundle of things to donate to our local mission.

And now I’m back in front of my trusty laptop, ready to start 2014. I’m dedicating this new year to fulfilling some dreams. I have ideas that I want to bring to reality and projects that I want to start as soon as possible.

What do you have planned 2014?

One thought on “Welcoming A New Year

Got something to say?

