Date Night

Last night I got a lovely treat.

Thanks to a friend of my fiance, we were gifted tickets to a show at a local historical theater. It was for a band I hadn’t heard, but my fiance was pretty excited. I was thrilled at an opportunity to get a peek inside this famed venue.

So yesterday evening, instead of curling up with Sunday Night Football as usual, I donned a sweater that makes me feel pretty, I did my hair, and even put on a little make up. I wore my special jewelry, including a bracelet Tracie’s daughter made for me. I used a little of my special perfume. I even wore real shoes instead of my moccasins.

I’m glad I dressed up.

The venue was beautiful. There was a festive feeling in the atmosphere and I was filled to the brim with excitement. We had INCREDIBLE seats in the front row of the mezzanine level and the acoustics were terrific.

We were told there would be an opening band. The usher said they were from Portland, but when we looked them up we found they’re from NYC. The group, The London Souls, was awesome! For a three-piece band, they put out a lot of sound. The guitarist and lead vocalist reminded me of a cross of Jimi Hendrix and Lenny Kravitz. For a band that reportedly rehearsed solely via cell phone prior to their first gig together, they are remarkably tight. I especially liked “Easier Said Than Done” and “Someday.”

Then it was on to the main act, The Tedeschi Trucks Band.

As the stage filled with more and more musicians, I was dumbfounded. How big was this band? Susan Tedeschi and Derek Trucks were backed by two drummers, a bass player, a keyboard player (who busted out a killer flute solo in between songs), a three-piece horn section, and two back-up vocalists. It was like nothing I’d ever seen! Susan Tedeschi has a voice similar to Bonnie Raitt, full of grit and raw emotion. Derek Trucks played a Gibson SG and man, could he make that thing sing. At one point one of the drummers was drumming with a tambourine. And the horns?

OH MY GOODNESS.

Honestly, they were my favorite part. Not only could they play, they danced along, putting on a show the whole night. During one of the guitar solos, Derek Trucks had a phenomenal byplay with Maurice Brown on the trumpet that had the crowd standing and cheering when they finished. Certainly, my jaw was on the floor.

Whether blues is your thing or not, I would highly recommend checking these guys out. It’s great music with multiple components that blend together seamlessly. And if they’re stopping by your neck of the woods, definitely get tickets. You won’t regret it.

Our date night out was wonderful and something I will treasure forever. Now I’m off to bake brownies as a thank you to the friends who gifted us these tickets.

**Disclaimer: I was not compensated in any way for this post. The tickets were a gift from a friend who has no idea that I even blog. All opinions are my own. The artists nor the venue have any knowledge of this post and did not require me to say nice things about them.

 

Got something to say?

