Because Good People Still Exist

I’m a big believer in karma.

Being raised in religious families, I’ve modified the teachings I grew up with to simply this:

GoodBlog

Obviously, there are many things in this world that can make this seem more difficult. Stress, finances, politics, health, family- they can all overwhelm and complicate matters. We get bogged down with all the things we HAVE to do and everything else goes by the way-side.

With the holiday season in full swing, I’ve been stressing about Christmas shopping and whether we’ll be able to make it home to visit my family. I’ve been frustrated by the restrictions chronic illness places on me; they’re never more prevalent than when I have a list of things to do, that I WANT to do, but can’t without help.

It took a sweet news story about a teen collecting socks for homeless people in her area to remind me it isn’t about what I can’t do, it’s about what I can.

What I can do is hand make gifts for some of my closest friends. I can shop online. I can make lists and scan the web for deals so when my fiance gets home from work we can go shopping together. I can also donate my time to others. I can spread love.

Because good people still exist. And I can be one of them.

Today I’m researching a few options in my local area. I want to do something for sick kids. I’m not sure what I can pull together, yet, but I’m working on ideas. I will do something. I will spread love.

There have been times in my life when I really needed help and miraculously, something has always come through. I firmly believe it is my duty to pay that forward to others when I’m able.

Put good out into the world, it WILL come back.

 

One thought on “Because Good People Still Exist

  1. This is why we’re WonderTwins. I believe the same thing. I believe my duty is to be love and leave a piece of love wherever I go. You’ve just reminded me what this season is all about: giving. And that’s not to be cliche. Giving is what it’s all about. 🙂

Got something to say?

