Baby, It’s Cold Outside!

ColdBlog

It finally feels like winter here in the PACNW.

Over the holiday week cold winds blew into our neck of the woods and didn’t leave. Which meant RA flared within my joints. And didn’t leave.

We spent a lovely Thanksgiving with friends. We ate good food, laughed, and gave thanks. Back at home that night, I noticed the pain in my chest was getting worse. I was finding it hard to breathe. Suddenly, the pain was unbearable. We rushed off to the hospital.

After many tests to make sure my heart was okay, it was determined that I was suffering from costochondritis. I’ve had this before, it’s pretty common in those with RA. This bout was worse than any I’ve had prior, though. We went home to follow the doctor’s orders of rest and anti-inflammatory medications.

However, that night found me back in the ER with a horrible stomach bug. After getting rehydrated and my levels all stabalized, I was back home with more orders of rest.

So I did.

I spent the rest of my weekend curled up under the electric blanket in bed or bundled up on my couch. I got caught up on some of my favorite shows like Once Upon A Time, Once Upon A Time in Wonderland, and The Blacklist. I lived in my comfiest jammies and fuzzy socks and played quiz games on my phone. And I slept. A lot.

Yesterday I started to feel a bit more like myself. I wanted badly to spend the day writing but there were emails and phone calls that needed my desperate attention, not to mention grocery lists and coupons to prepare. The to-do list overwhelmed my mind and stifled any hope of being able to write.

So I’m back today. I’m still stiff and sore, though the stomach bug seems to be loosening its hold on me. There’s another cold front in the area and temperatures are steadily dropping with snow falling in the mountains and icy rain falling in the valleys. I’m making cautious preparations in anticipation of the flare worsening before it gets better. Which means a lot of crock-pot meals.

How do you prepare for colder weather? Do you have any tips to share?

**I also shared my story of living with RA here. Check it out!

2 thoughts on “Baby, It’s Cold Outside!

  1. I was wondering if something was up. I’m so sorry, I’ve heard that type of inflammation is crazy painful. And scary too, if you feel like your heart is failing.
    I’m loving the idea of you cuddled up cozy and warm, working towards feeling better.
    xoxo

Got something to say?

