Month of Positivity- Day 17

MOPBlog

November 17, 2013

It feels like this flare might finally be easing. I was able to help out with chores yesterday and awoke this morning feeling rested instead of exhausted. I’m still a little swollen and hurty, but nowhere near where I have been these past few weeks. Self-care yesterday consisted of curling up with football and comfort food. I enjoyed a nice weekend with my fiance which was great for us and great for me.

I know it might sound materialistic, but today I’m thankful for the things in my life that make living easier. When I have flares, it’s often hard for me to do seemingly simple things. There are days when it’s impossible to pick up the laptop or open a can of soda. Fortunately, I have a few things that make the hard days a little less painful.

I’m thankful for my iPhone, which allows me to stay social, even when I’m confined to bed. I’m thankful for the little tool that helps me open soda cans and juice bottles, it saves me when my hands are too painful and swollen. I’m thankful for the gifts of fuzzy socks and comfy jammies that keep me warm and comforted when my body is chilled and hurting. I’m thankful for our space heater which allows me to stay toasty warm without spiking the electric bill. I’m thankful for my crafting supplies which keep me from going insane while I’m home alone during the days.

I’m thankful for my lovely friends who never fail to lift my spirits when they are low. Whether it’s funny texts or silly photos, video chats or emails about our favorite books, they cheer me up when I’m hurting and feeling vulnerable. I’m thankful for all of you, my lovely readers, who give me a purpose. I know that you are here waiting for me, my words. Knowing that there are others out there like me eases the feeling of loneliness that chronic illness has brought into my life.

This is another instance where I will be paying the love forward. I’ve listed these limited edition ornaments in my store.

Rudolf-WatermarkSanta-Watermark

They are only available for this holiday season. I will be giving a set of them away to one of my lucky readers. If you’d like to enter for a chance to win, please comment with something for which you’re thankful. If you’re blogging along with me this month, a link to your blog post will also count. All comments need to be posted by midnight Friday night, November 22, 2013 to be eligible. I will announce the winner Monday, November 25, 2013.

Don’t waste any time, post your grateful comment now!

 

5 thoughts on “Month of Positivity- Day 17

Got something to say?

