Month of Positivity- Day 10

MOPBlog

 

November 10, 2013

I’m thankful for our military and their families.

I grew up an Air Force brat. My first step-father was in the Air Force and my second step-father is, as well. My youngest sister is also in the Air Force. My father served in the Army before I was born, so did his younger brother. I have many cousins who serve.

Bottom line, I support our troops.

I have a lot of pride in my family’s military service. I know first-hand the sacrifice that serving requires. It’s why I don’t serve myself. I know that I am not brave enough to put my life on the line. I admire those like my sister who do so without hesitation. Because of their bravery, I’m able to be free. My son will grow up knowing what it means to live with honor because of the examples provided by my step-father and my sister.

I always say, you don’t have to like our government, you don’t even have to like the state of our country. But don’t bash the troops. They are people doing their jobs, just like the rest of us. Their jobs just happen to require putting their lives on the line so that we can live with the freedoms we’ve come to take for granted.

I’m grateful for our brave soldiers and the sacrifices they make each and every day. To show that gratitude, I’ll be adding a few soldiers to my Christmas card list this year. It’s not much, but it’s something I can do to send a little love to those who happen to be away from home during the holidays.

My self care yesterday was bliss. It was a nice Sunday off with my fiance. We slept in. We had a late brunch together. We watched football while dinner simmered in the crockpot. We indulged in comfort foods while lounging in jammies. I napped when I needed to and closed out the day with some snuggles and a smile. There’s little in this world that is better than that.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off? How are you showing your gratitude on Veteren’s Day? Don’t forget to post your link in the comments below!

 

One thought on “Month of Positivity- Day 10

Got something to say?

