Month of Positivity- Day 6

MOPBlog

November 6, 2013

I’m thankful for open minds.

I’m thankful for people who listen with an open mind, who aren’t afraid they might have been wrong.

I’m thankful that two people can come together to have an honest conversation about bullying and be able to see the other’s point without being hurtful themselves.

There was a tweet yesterday that upset me. I lashed out a response and quickly unfollowed the person. My heart was sad that someone I looked up to could be so blaise about something like bullying.

To my surprise, that person responded to me. What passed was an honest conversation where we both explained our points. I was able to see that her tweet, while worded poorly, was not meant in the way I had taken it. She was able to see how those words could be hurtful.

Her open mind and ability to see my side warmed my heart. In a world that feels increasingly rude and hurtful to me, it was a breath of fresh air for a musician to take the time to respond and have a healthy conversation with me. I am once again following her and am looking forward to her newest single. Which just happens to be anti-bullying.

Yesterday was more resting. The weather is doing weird storming-then sunny-then storming switch-ups every ten minutes which are wreaking havoc on my poor joints. I’ve gone ahead and stopped trying to deny it, I’m in a flare. This means lots of rest for me and minimal activity. I’m keeping up on crafts when my hands will cooperate and playing mindless games on my phone when I’m not napping.

My gratitude project for yesterday is a big one, I’m still working on it. My fiance and I’ve been blessed to have people help us when we’ve been struggling. Whenever possible, I like to repay that kindness. If I can’t, I like to try to pay it forward to someone else when I can. I honestly believe if more people were kind, the world would be a better place. And sharing kindness doesn’t have to cost money.

Be sure to also check out my #gratitude30 photos over on Instagram. If you’ve got a post about being thankful and positive, please share you link in the comments!

Let’s find the happy in each day!

2 thoughts on “Month of Positivity- Day 6

  1. It is wonderful when people can come together like rational adults and talk through something like that. It is far too rare in our world these days.

    I’m so sorry you are in a flare…but I’m proud of you for doing what you need to do to take care of yourself.

Got something to say?

