Cooking With Spoonies: Pumpkin Cookies

CookingWithSpoonies

I saw this recipe on Pinterest last fall and had to try it  out. Not because I’m a huge fan of pumpkin (I’m not *gasp*), but because my fiance loves it.

I tried to find the original pin in order to give credit but now it comes back as a bad link. Sad story.

Anyhow, these cookies are a spoonie’s friend because they are two ingredients. That’s it. I would suggest doing them on a day when you have a couple spare spoons, however, because the recipe makes a ton and it takes some time.

All you need is one regular sized can of pumpkin (I use Libby’s) and one pouch of snickerdoodle cookie mix.

Preheat your oven according to the directions on the cookie package. In a large bowl mix together the entire can of pumpkin with the cookie mix. It’ll be a very moist dough. Now most snickerdoodle mixes come with a cinnamon-sugar mix packet. The original recipe said to roll the cookies into this mix before baking, but like I said, it’s a pretty moist dough. And it was messy. Instead, I mixed the cinnamon-sugar packet in with the other ingredients.

Here’s where you can get fancy…

If you like pretty looking cookies, you can use a pastry bag or a large Ziplock bag to pipe out pretty shaped cookies. If you’re feeling a little less fancy, you can scoop rounded spoonfuls onto the pan. Whichever floats your boat. When I made the cookies last year, I went the spoon route. When I made these this week for our upcoming Halloween party, I went with pretty. They both work.

I have smaller cookie sheets, so I fit six onto each pan. I baked one pan at a time for about 10-12 minutes (depending on your oven) until they were springy on the top to the touch- like a bread or muffin would be. Transfer them directly to a cooling rack.

cookies

Again, this is a moist cookie, so they will be chewy and soft. This also means that you need to be SURE they are completely cooled before packing them away. That moisture could lead to early spoiling if you’re not careful.

The cookies are quite yummy on their own, even if you’re like me and not a big pumpkin fan. If you want to add a decadent touch, I would suggest icing them with a cream cheese frosting, which is what I’m doing for our party.

3 thoughts on “Cooking With Spoonies: Pumpkin Cookies

Got something to say?

