Fall Is Mine

For as long as I can remember, Fall has been one of my favorite times of year.

As a child, I loved jumping in the piles of leaves, the smell of rain in the air. Fall meant Back to School, new clothes and snazzy new boots. It heralded the coming of one of the best holidays, Halloween. I loved the idea of dressing up as someone new for a day.

My love for Fall hasn’t waned with age, instead it’s grown into a deep passion. Fall in the Pacific Northwest is a variety of greens, golds, reds, oranges, and browns. There is a collective sigh as the heat of Summer is driven off by drizzly rains. The world smells of earth, storms, and harvests. The lighter fare of Summer gives way to comfort food that warms us from the inside out.

When I was first diagnosed with RA, I was warned that the weather would play a part in my flares. I remember that first Fall with a mix of dread and sadness. While I reveled in my season coming, my body rebelled with one painful flare after another. I despaired at the the thought that my favorite time of year would forever be a source of pain. Determined not to be miserable, I searched for ways to make Fall mine again.

This year I’m prepared. I have extra blankets set out, fluffy socks for my swollen feet, and comfy sweats in varying levels of thickness. We’re stocked up on apple cider, hot cocoa, and tea to warm me from the inside. And my crockpot is prepared to get a work out as it fills my freezer and refrigerator with comfort food and easy meals to be prepared on days when my spoons are sapped.

Yesterday brought Fall with blustery gusts of wind and drizzly rain. My fiance and I curled up with our blankets and watched football while chicken soup simmered away on the stove. Yes, I hurt. Yes, my joints screamed in protest with movement. But I fought back with warmth and comfort. I napped when I needed to and was greeted with the smell of home cooking and rain when I woke.

I’ve made Fall mine again.

What do you do to feel more comfortable as the seasons change?

Got something to say?

