Cooking With Spoonies- Smothered Chicken Chimis

CookingWithSpoonies

We love tacos in my house.

In fact, sometimes it feels like we have tacos at least once a week. Which, after a while, means that we need some ways to switch it up. Awhile back I started cooking chicken in my crock pot with a can of chicken broth and a package of taco seasoning. The chicken shreds nicely and you’re left with a juicy taco meat that can be used in a multitude of ways. Also, this makes enough that I often freeze half of the batch to be used later in the month, maybe on a day where my spoons are limited.

So the other night I was faced with some taco chicken and a craving for a twist on just the same old tacos. The following is what my mind came up with. I hope you enjoy!

Smothered Chicken Chimichangas

10 Small flour tortillas

Taco chicken (about 2 cups)

1 Package shredded cheese (about 2 cups)

1 Can cheddar cheese soup

1 Bottle green taco sauce

I sprayed my 9×13 baking pan with cooking spray and set my oven to 375. I then placed a small portion of meat and shredded cheese in the middle of each tortilla, then wrapped into a small burrito shape. I was able to fit 10 into my pan. I then sprinkled the remainder of the shredded cheese on top of all the little chimichangas.

In a bowl I mixed the cheese soup with half a can of the green taco sauce. (I poured the sauce into the soup can as way of measurement.) I spread this mixture on top of the chimichangas and called it good. I baked it for about 20 minutes, until the cheese mixture was bubbly. The exposed portions of the tortillas were nice and golden, with a little crunch.

We served ours with a side of chicken flavored rice and some sour cream. They were so yummy that we had the leftovers last night.

Obviously you can make many substitutions here. Salsa could be added, or cream cheese, or really anything. These were the items I had on hand and the flavors that sounded good to me. And they were VERY good!

If you have any other ideas for taco night, please leave them in the comments!

Got something to say?

