Cooking With Spoonies- Cheesy Chicken and Biscuits

CookingWithSpoonies

Awhile back I promised to start sharing my recipes with y’all. So here I am.

I’ll preface by saying most of my recipes come from other recipes. Usually I’ll see something on Pinterest or Food Network that looks yummy but for one thing or another. So I leave out the onions because ew. Or I find a way around the tomatoes because of my allergy. I sub one green veggie for another to satisfy what I’m craving. And honestly, isn’t that the best way to cook?

I tell you all that to tell you this: When I can, I will always link back to the recipe that inspired me. Because that’s what’s right. Also, please feel free to have your way with my recipes. They’re all very convertible and you should be cooking things you’ll actually want to eat.

Enjoy!

Cheesy Chicken and Biscuits

This one was inspired by half a dozen recipes online that all required things I didn’t have or didn’t like. So I kind of mashed them all into this deliciousness.

What you’ll need:

1 lb cooked chicken breasts, in bite-sized pieces

1 can cream of chicken soup

1 ½ cups shredded cheddar cheese

1 cup frozen corn

1 can biscuits

In a 8×8 casserole dish, I layered the chicken first. Then I topped it with the corn, then 1 cup of the shredded cheese. Using a rubber spatula, I covered all of that with the can of soup. Then I placed the biscuits over the top. Sprinkle the top with the remaining cheese, cover with foil, and pop it into a 375 degree oven.

Bake for 15 minutes or until just starting to bubble. Remove the foil so the biscuits can get some color, cook for another 5-10 minutes, until they’re golden and the mixture is bubbling.

This could be served with a salad and easily feed a family of 4 or 5. Since it was just my fiance and I, we had our fill and then packaged up the leftovers for the next day’s lunch.

Also, I used the generic brand of biscuits because that’s what I had on hand. By all means, you could use Pillsbury and I’m sure it would add a nice flaky crust quality.

Hope you all liked this first installment. Keep an eye out for next week, I think it may be a dessert!

3 thoughts on “Cooking With Spoonies- Cheesy Chicken and Biscuits

Got something to say?

