Welcome To My Kitchen

I’ve always loved food.

Now I know what you’re thinking, most people love food. Nope. I LOVE food. I love to eat it, I love to cook it, I love to think and dream about it. I love me some food.

I don’t remember always loving to cook. I think as a young mother and wife, I found myself without any idea of how to make the things I loved so much. And so I studied. I watched cooking shows and read cookbooks. I started with simple recipes and then played with them. I eventually graduated to making my own recipes and revamping others to fit my tastes.

When I met my fiance, I found someone who genuinely appreciated my cooking. He became my willing guinea pig, eagerly trying any new thing I placed in front of him. I took my hobby to a new level and started writing my recipes in a book with the hopes to one day have my own cookbook.

And then I got sick.

One of my greatest fears is that I will wake up one day and no longer be able to use my hands. When I was first diagnosed with RA, my hands were gnarled clubs at the end of my arms. They were so swollen from the flare that I could neither make a fist nor fully extend my fingers. There were days I could barely hold my phone. As we got my disease back to a manageable level, we found that the flare had caused some nerve damage in my hands.

Nerve damage doesn’t get better, yo.

And so, my fear is a very real one.

However, I’ll be damned if I’m going to let my fear stop me from doing things I love while I still have use of my hands. I may be cautious, but I do still cook when my energy levels allow it. I’ve made some changes, though, to make being in the kitchen a bit more spoonie friendly. See, the nerve damage and RA mean I can’t lift a gallon of milk let alone a large roasting pan. Some days my dexterity just isn’t there. Those days are not good for trying to wield a chef’s knife. There are days that I can’t stand and stir a pot for hours. I’ve had to make some tweaks here and there.

A little while back, I asked the Tweeter Machine if others would like to see some of the recipes I’ve deemed spoonie friendly. I received a resounding yes. And so, every once in awhile I’ll share something that makes me say YUM! I don’t follow any strict diet so if you’re looking for gluten-free, I’m not your gal. I’ll warn you in advance, I’m allergic to tomatoes and not a huge fan of onions, so there’s not a ton of that going on here. I’m a firm believer that I can have just about anything I want, in moderation. So there will be dairy and sugar and carbs. And because of the ease, quite a bit that involves my slow-cooker.

If you have something you’d like to see, leave me a comment. I can’t promise anything, but I can try. If you have a spoonie friendly recipe you’d like to share, please email me at becominneurotic@gmail.com.

I’m excited to share my love of food with you. I’m excited to show you that we can still enjoy our hobbies even in the face of disability. I’m excited to cook for you.

8 thoughts on “Welcome To My Kitchen

  1. I love food, but I’d prefer it to spring forth at the push of a button. That said, I think sharing recipes is a great idea. . .especially if you have some for people who don’t really know what they’re doing.

  2. Pause. Who told you nerve damage doesn’t get better? Because they lied. Nerve damage can and does improve with treatment. I’m a walking example of it my dear. My nervous system was shot, to the point that all my nerve endings were firing at once and it felt like I was being electrocuted from the inside. I too couldn’t pick up a bottle of water, let alone a gallon of milk. With chiropractic adjustments, simple stretch exercises, and eating foods with vitamin B1, my nerves are now 75% repaired in just a matter of weeks. No more internal electrocution. No more nerve numbness. The cells are repairing themselves slowly, and the nerves are firing at a normal rate now. Message me if you want more detail. In the meantime, bring on the recipes! xoxo

    1. Dawnie- I should have been more specific. We were able to repair some of the damage done. However there was also joint damage that can’t be repaired without surgery. Those joints are impacting certain nerve centers and so that damage can’t be repaired or helped until/if I get surgery for the joints.

      1. Ahh, okay. Whew. Having been lied to many times by various docs, just wanted to make sure you weren’t getting the same run around. Sucks about the joints though. Sending positive thoughts your way my dear.

  3. I love the recipe sharing idea!!! I have quite a few recipes that are easy, not due to my health but due to 3 kids that keep me busy. I have some of Mistys recipes as well and she could barely use her one arm so they are Spoonie friendly too. I will e-mail some to you soon. Just as I told my sis “You are one tough cookie and show that RA whose boss.”

Got something to say?

