Holy Exhaustion, Batman!

Nearly 13 year old boys can take a lot out of a person. They can also eat you out of house and home.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my son to the depths of my core. I’m fascinated with his budding mind and adored every minute I got to spend with him. I’m also exhausted to the very tips of my newly painted toes.

We went school clothes shopping, had an unbirthday party at an arcade, watched my fiance and his band rock out for the Fourth of July, played many video games, had a movie marathon, went swimming, played Mini-Golf, and braved some grocery shopping.

The week flew by far too fast and my little apartment that just weeks ago felt slightly too small for all our things now feels so very large and empty. His boisterous energy and excitement filled this space with laughter, love, tickles, family bonding, superhero debates, and friendly competition.

The loves of my life <3
The loves of my life ❤

I’ve learned more about Batman and the Justice League than I ever knew I needed to know. I’m about tapped out on anything Minecraft related. And I’m in proud shock at just how intelligent he truly is. We had a nearly hour long conversation about gun control and today’s politics inspired by the Mario Savio speech used in Linkin Park’s “Wretches and Kings.”

This child of mine who was born long after the Civil Rights Movement has deep and inspiring thoughts regarding equality and our government. It gave me hope that maybe, just maybe, his generation will be able to rally behind the recent changes we’ve seen and move our country into a time where MLK’s dream will truly be a reality. Where we will all be equal, our bodies will be our own, and there will be justice for those who can’t seek it themselves.

While I miss his smile and my home feels oh-so-bare, I’m relieved for a bit of rest and recovery. Tonight is my monthly shot and I’m feeling the end of the medication cycle in a big way. I’m looking forward to a few days of time to myself where I can remember to take care of ME.

And then I’ll be ready for him to come back at the end of the month to wrap me in his hugs once again.

4 thoughts on “Holy Exhaustion, Batman!

  1. I love that picture so much – it is fun! 🙂

    But mostly I love that you are having such a wonderful visit – and that you have more time to look forward to soon.

Got something to say?

