Spoons 4 Spoonies

It’s been nearly six months since I got the phone call that changed my life.

The loss of Misty was a huge part of what spurred me to spend this year focusing on healing. While the hurt of losing her was a deep gash in my heart, there was a more private reason. A reason I didn’t want to face, couldn’t put into words. I was terrified of the repercussions of voicing this fear. Would it become a self-fulfilling prophecy?

Misty and I had more than a few things in common. Our lives battling chronic pain and illness was a large one. Losing Misty so suddenly not only broke my heart, it made me face my mortality.

Average people often contemplate their own mortality when confronted with death. It’s something we all try to not think about until it’s shoved in our faces. The difference here is that Misty was like me. She was a spoonie, she lived in pain and battled multiple chronic illnesses. To realize that I wasn’t invincible, that in fact my illnesses make me more susceptible to Death’s cold grasp…it shocked me to my very core.

Since the haze of grief lifted, I’ve been struggling. I’ve been wanting to honor Misty’s life somehow. I’ve been wanting to spread her love to others, to those that never got to feel the warm glow of her infectious smile. And maybe, just maybe, I could find a way to leave my own legacy. Something I could look back on with pride, knowing I had touched people. Maybe I could find a way to change the world.

With a healthy dash of inspiration from Teala and the works of Jasper Fforde, and with the insurmountable help of Cindy Lou, I’m proud to announce the birth of Spoons 4 Spoonies.

S4SProPic

Spoons 4 Spoonies are hand painted and decorated spoons. Much in the way of the Giving Keys, they’re meant to be shared. Inscribed with inspirational words, they’re a symbol that someone is thinking of you and sending a little something extra your way. So often I hear people in the spoonie community wanting to send virtual spoons to our fellow sufferers, especially when they’re having a rough day. Now we can.

Each spoon is $5.00, a fee only to cover shipping and material costs. This is not a project to earn money, it’s about changing lives. Should there be any money left after expenses, I plan to donate it. All inquiries can be emailed to spoons4spoonies@gmail.com

I hope you’ll all join me in spreading a little love. Misty wanted to change the world, ease pain and suffering, and make sure that every one was loved. With your help, we can make her dream come true.

Got something to say?

