Thankful For A Break

As you might have noticed, I missed yesterday’s post.

We spent the day out visiting Pops and attending a meeting with staff/nurses/doctors to determine his continuing plans for recovery and rehabilitation. Things seem to be going smoothly, so thank you to those sending up good thoughts, they’re clearly working.

When we got home, I realized that we will be having friends over for Thanksgiving, which is tomorrow. And I have done ZERO prep. Also, I’m working behind the scenes at the Band Back Together Auction, which means I’m swamped for the next few weeks.

As my mental to-do list kept growing, I felt the panic set in.

It took quite a lot to sit down, breathe deeply, and calm myself, but I did it. Then I prioritized. I started some of my baking last night (pumpkin cream cheese sandwich cookies) and wrote out lists of things that need to be accomplished over the next few days.

As a result, I’m giving myself a little break. Honestly, isn’t that the best form of self-care?

I’m not going to stress about trying to find time to write this holiday weekend. I’m going to spend this evening getting things ready for tomorrow and putting some finishing touches on things for the Auction. Friday through Sunday will be spent in BB2G overdrive as I make sure the Auction gets started without a hitch and that I’m caught up on my other projects.

Don’t fret, I’ll be back next week to tell you how my holiday was and to give you lots of thankfulness. I hope you all have wonderful weekends full of whatever makes you happiest. Please take a moment to thank those who are out there working so we can enjoy ourselves and take a few moments to make sure your loved ones know how much they mean to you.

And keep me in your thoughts as I’m faced with my first, swear to the gods of chocolate, tofurkey.

2 thoughts on “Thankful For A Break

Got something to say?

