Day 9, Sunshine and Smiles

Possibly my favorite part of this journey I’m on this month, is getting to showcase all the very special people in my life.

Sometimes I think we get caught up in the daily grind of things and we lose sight of what’s truly important. Would more money, less work, more time, less pain make life easier? Possibly. But what kind of life would it be without love?

I’m the type of friend who loves fiercely and fast. I will give you everything I can, be your biggest supporter, anything you need. That is, until you give me a reason not to. Some say that I’m too trusting. I say everyone deserves my trust. Once.

I won’t give you a second chance to hurt me, though.

Fortunately, the majority of the people in my life are wonderful, caring people. People who give so freely of themselves that it amazes me on a regular basis.

Yesterday, one of those wonderful people came to visit me.

Shevaun is a fellow Bandmate and all around awesome chick. She lives about an hour or so away, so she’s by far the Bandmate I get to see most often. Still, just hopping in the car to visit on a whim isn’t always possible. Gas is expensive, yo.

Yesterday, she did just that. She packed up her youngest daughter and they came bearing gifts. Specialty bath salts, crafty items, and their awesome company. We chatted for hours, talking about everything. Her daughter sat at my craft table making wonderful little picture frames and bookmarks, her smile and enthusiasm lighting up my home.

I don’t know how to show this sweet friend how much she means to me, how grateful I am to have her in my life. Well, that’s not entirely true. I have an idea, but it may take some time to institute.

For self care? I took a nap after they left so that I could go watch my better half play last night. And when I got sleepy, I was a good girl and brought myself home instead of staying out too late.

Thank you Shevaun, for being my sunshine on a cold, Oregon day.

4 thoughts on “Day 9, Sunshine and Smiles

Got something to say?

