Day 5, The Superhero Duo

I’ve decided it’s better to do this as a review of the day before. I like looking back on things that way. Also, it starts my day with reflection which, on days like today, is a good thing.

Yesterday was spent running out to the father-in-law’s apartment to pick up a few necessities for him before going to visit him in his temporary home. A lot of driving, a lot of running around, and a lot more than I should have been doing, honestly.

In visiting with Don, I realized how blessed I am to have the friends I do in my life. Don doesn’t have many close friends. He has some acquaintances but I don’t think he has anyone he can truly pour his heart out to. And maybe that’s a generational thing, I don’t know.

It reminded me how lucky I am that on even the darkest days, all I have to do is pick my phone.

Misty is my sister from another mister, my spoonie partner in crime. On the yuckiest days, I know she will understand better than most people in my life. She also lives with chronic pain. But she’s more than just my lifeline in the dark, although that’s no small thing. She’s bubbly and full of smiles. She’s encouraging and uplifting.

She’s the one who reached out to me, in my early days with The Band, to tell me she saw something special in me. She guided me through finding my niche, she encouraged me to start writing again. Indeed, had there been no Misty in my life, there may have not been this blog.

She’s held my hand over 2000 miles as I poured my heart out, sharing my stories at Band Back Together. She sends me funny cards in the mail just because. And no matter what crazy idea I have, she’s there to support me 100%. Hell, she even gets excited!

We joke that one day, we’ll live side by side in a nursing home, having scooter races in our electric wheelchairs.

How do I show this sister of my heart how grateful I am for her? Well, because she reads this, I won’t ruin the surprise. But I’m working on something extra special for her πŸ™‚

As for self-care yesterday, I was bad. I didn’t do anything specific. Quite frankly, I was so exhausted by the time we got home, I could barely think. But I did put my feet up and relax instead of cleaning the stack of dishes in my kitchen. Even though it drives me bonkers to see them sitting there. Today I’ll do extra self-care. I have a feeling I’m gonna need it.

Misty-

Thank you for being the other half of my superhero duo. One of these days, I’ll get us some capes πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Day 5, The Superhero Duo

  1. I’m glad that you have the types of friendships that make you happy and grateful. It’s also important to remember that some of us introverted types actually prefer to have only one … maybe two … really close friends πŸ˜‰

  2. I love you. I’m sorry that you’re having such a rough day today. I’m glad you have somebody to help you get through it.

  3. I love that you are giving yourself the space to do extra self-care.

    I also love that you love Misty. I’m just starting to get to know her, but I can already tell she is awesome.

  4. It’s really difficult to know what to say to such a wonderful compliment other than, Thank You and you couldn’t possibly understand how much our friendship means to me. I’ve never truly had a friend like you and it’s amazing that I have that opportunity now. My only complaint is that we live SO far away and I’ll be moving EVEN FURTHER at some point. Well, I’m gonna have to save my money so I can make a trip out there. The people in your town won’t know what hit ’em! Of course, they will need to realize that we’re fluffin’ Spoonies, so we’ll have to give ’em hell, but then we’re gonna need a break so our joints don’t hurt too much! Hahahaha! So what if it’s a v-e-r-y sloooooowwww attack! We’ll get there eventually, those damn whippersnappers!

    Anyway, I love you like a sister and I’m working on Miss Tracie since we all work together so much. Beware, Tracie…. Bewaaaare. Muahahahaha!

    Much love and extra spoons,
    Misty ❀

Got something to say?

