Day 1, It Begins.

As the first day in my month of thankfulness and self-care, I was unsure where to start.

How do you pick the first thing you are thankful for? If you’re anything like me, there’s a bit to choose from. However, I reminded my whirling brain that I have all month to show my gratitude and so here is what I did today:

Today I am thankful for having a roof over my head. I know there are a good many in the world that can’t say that. More specifically, I am thankful for having a home to share with my love. It might just be a one bedroom apartment to some, but it is our first official home together.

Here is the home where we will have our first memories to share with our children later. Here is where we first decided together what things to hang on our walls, what pictures to display. Here is the first kitchen where I lovingly prepare dinner for him to come home to after a long day’s work. Over there is the hole in the wall he drilled to run cable to our bedroom. There is our first bedroom decorated together, our first closet shared, my shirts hanging next to his uniforms.

Here is where our love is displayed and shared with those who came to visit.

And so, to show thankfulness for this space we share, this home we make, I will clean the kitchen and pick up a bit. Things have slacked some during all the chaos of the past week or so, and there are chores to be done. I will also put together a box of things to donate to our local shelter. A way of sharing a bit of my home with those without.

For myself, my self-care, I’ve decided that I would most benefit from nap this afternoon. I’ll make it further decadent by napping in bed with the electric blanket on. We had a late night last night, celebrating with friends. I pushed my body a little further than I should have and I’m worn down today. Ian works swing today, so I’ll be left to my own devices until after 9pm, plenty of time then to nap and still complete a few chores.

Heat, home, happiness.

One thought on “Day 1, It Begins.

  1. Man, that’s some stuff to be grateful for. Too many people got the simple shit like home, heat, and food taken from them by Sandy. Love and hugs!

Got something to say?

