Prompt Me, Promptly

From the age of two, (according to my mother), I’ve had a book in my hand. Somewhere along the line, I discovered I loved to write nearly as much as I loved to read. Loving to do something doesn’t always guarantee that you’ll be good at it, however. I craved to make my words steam across the paper like the books of my heart. Somehow, I was never quite able to make the scenes I saw in my mind’s eye appear on paper.

Over the years, I’ve started writing a novel more times than I can count. Each time I’ll start with fervor, only to give up in desperation soon after. Blogging has come more easily because it’s…well…easier. I’m just writing to my diary, really. It’s not the wonderful fictional characters that swim around my head, it’s my boring life. The fact that there are people who want to read about my life still boggles my mind.

Many of my Bandmates are fellow bloggers and writers. Many have asked why I don’t write more, or have complimented my writing and asked where to find more. I don’t write more because I don’t know where or how to begin. The desire can be there but I’ll still just spend all day staring at a blank screen.

Lately, with all of my crafting, my creative juices have been flowing. Of course, this has turned the switch again, and I’m craving to write. But about what?

I can hardly blog all day, what would I tell you? Shall I post about how many times I’ve stubbed my toes today? (Three, in case y’all are wondering. And it’s only noon.)

No.

I may not have many scruples with what I share with the interwebs, and if you follow me on Twitter, you’ll already know this. But I have to draw the line somewhere and when it comes to writing, it’s about quality, not quantity.

So I guess, I’m going to start researching some writing prompts or such. I know there are groups to link up to where I can: A) Write with more direction and B) Write more.

Never fear, I shall be posting these writings here. Feel free to leave your ideas/criticisms/etc in the comments section.

2 thoughts on “Prompt Me, Promptly

Got something to say?

