New Year, New Goals

I realize I’m a little late to the party here, but all my upbeat peoples on the tweeter machine tell me better late than never, so here I am.

I’ve always been a fan of the New Year holiday. I’m one of those not-so-popular people who view it as a fresh start. For as long as I can remember, I’ve watched the ball drop on NYE while setting new goals for the next year. Some were silly, some were vain, some were important, all were life-changing.

Because that’s what it’s about for me.

I use the upcoming year to turn the page in the book of my life. It’s a time for plot twists and new chapters.

So I’ve been looking at life and trying to decide what kind of new paths I want to walk down in 2014. I have ideas for my blog, for Spoons 4 Spoonies, for my crafting, for my writing. I have plans to better live life with chronic illness. I’ll also be planning our wedding this year, which is another set of goals.

Because I love lists almost as much as Dawnie does, and because her list reminded me that I hadn’t yet put my goals into words, here we are.

*Each day I will do something that makes me feel better about myself. I will wear people clothes, do my hair, or put on mascara. I will paint my nails or give myself a pedicure. I will remind myself that I don’t have to “look sick.”

*I will grow my blog. I want to be able to reach out to more people. I want to keep writing honestly while still showing the good in the world. I want to interact with my readers more, and within the blogging community.

*I will create a routine and schedule for myself. I will better use my time so that all of my projects are getting my attention, while still taking care of myself. I will be better organized.

*I will continue to live the best life possible while still taking care of my health. Now that I am insured, some treatment options that weren’t available to me before are a possibility. I want to explore these options and find the best plan that works FOR ME. I want to get back into yoga and pilates.

*Most importantly, I will LIVE. I will enjoy things, even if they might cause me to hurt later. I refuse to be held captive by my illnesses. I will try new things and rekindle old hobbies. I will go on dates with my fiance. I will spend as much time as possible with our favorite couple. I will make new friends. I will branch out.

I WILL LIVE.

What will you be doing in 2014?

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Goals

Got something to say?

